Radeon Control Panel problem still exist?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Jason_DiamondCS, Feb 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I am just curious if the new version of ProcessGuard combined with the new ATI Control Panel still brings about a blue screen?
     
  2. Ryu Connor

    Ryu Connor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I'm getting one with the old panel.

    5.1 Catalyst without the CCC (.NET GUI).

    If I set a global denial of access to physical memory and click the Option tab of the ATI control panel, I will get a KMODE Exception in the ntoskrnl.exe.

    I can't find a process to approve to solve this. I'd also like to note that the forum search thinks ATI is too common a word to use as a search phrase.

    That makes things hard...
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2005
  3. Tatersalad

    Tatersalad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    I was getting the BSOD with the control panel but no problems the new 5.1 driver with the control center.
     
  4. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Ok thanks guys, as I suspected they did fix problems in their control panel in the latest version.
     
  5. Tatersalad

    Tatersalad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Just to be clear Jason there are two versions of the 5.1 catalyst driver. Apparently Ryu is still having problems with the control panel version. I have the control center version that requires the .net platform.
     
  6. Ryu Connor

    Ryu Connor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    =/

    There's definitely something still wrong as even if I give memory access to all the ATI.exe's, they still cause a BSOD with a KMODE Exception in ntoskrnl.exe every time I click the Options tab with global memory access being denied in Process Guard.

    Help?
     
  7. rickontheweb

    rickontheweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    129
    I was playing around with this since I updated to the latest available ATI catalyst drivers and found a similar situation.

    I normally do not give rundll32.exe the ability to install drivers/services, normally it's only allowed termination and modification protection and that's it. So when I normally clicked on the Ati Options tab, and the Details button in that tab also for that matter, I would get a warning from ProcessGuard that rundll32 tried to install a driver/service. But I always just ignored it, since it didn't seem to affect anything and the driver details displayed fine.

    I gave rundll32.exe the ability to install drivers/services and tried again and I got a BSOD. So I rebooted and gave rundll32.exe physical memory access as well an there was no problem displaying this time.

    I remember when I installed the drivers a couple weeks ago when using the previous version of PG initially I had to give rundll32.exe more rights to get the Details button on this tab to display the current settings information, but think it was only install services/drivers not physical memory access as well.

    But it doesn't seem necessary once the inital install and setup/settings details are confirmed, so now I simply ignore ProcessGuard's warning and the Options tab and Details button still display current settings normally despite denying rundll32's request. Ignoring it now seems to have no consequences. And I'd rather leave rundll32.exe with limited capabilities.
     
  8. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Thanks for the information guys, so I guess the problem still exists with the .NET control panel, but the non .NET version is fine.
     
  9. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    how do you all manage to update the radeon driver? with win xpsp2, every time you uninstall the old driver, the one that is built-in to win xpsp2 automatically installs..

    i know about "driver cleaner", but after running that i get lots of "missing files" when i run SFC, so i don't want to go that route..

    i think it was jason who posted the tip to disable ati's hotkey-polling, in "services".. that appears to resolve any problems.. still, i had to give rundll32.exe priviledges for "install drivers" and "access memory" (when accessing ati's control panel/"options"), or else PG would block those..
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.