Quick question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jneub60, Oct 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jneub60

    jneub60 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I am a new user and have a question. I have searched the forums and looked at the docs and I haven't found the answer. If I do a full backup named "backup" and then I do an incremental backup and it is named "backup1". Then, I want to do a third backup, when I choose the file to base the incremental backup on, do I choose "backup" or "backup1"?
     
  2. Chadmi

    Chadmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    43
    I don't know the answer for sure. But I think you use the same name every time. If you are using V9.0 you may have problems anyway.

    If you have the disk space my recommendation is to do rotating full backups. There is a post out there that addresses doing consecutive full backups. It works great for me. I have all but forgotten the backup routine because it manages its self.

    Go take a look at If your worried about HD space. Create consecutive backups and not fill your HD. That is how I got around all this incremental images. They will eventually fill up your drive. Plus you will have a tone of small files. Just a suggestion.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jneub60,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that Acronis True Image 9.0 recognizes all the files (volumes) of the image as the entire multivolume image archive. Therefore it does not matter if you will select backup.tib or backup1.tib, since Acronis True Image 9.0 will anyway create a corresponding incremental named backup2.tib.

    By the way, that is the reason for keeping the initial full image along will all it's subsequent incrementals in one folder.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  4. arf1410

    arf1410 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    does acronis 8.0 function the same way?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello arf1410,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Yes Acronis True Image 8.0 functions the same way.

    Thank you.
    _ _
    Alexander Fedotov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.