Questions on a new computer

Discussion in 'hardware' started by sportsfan7700, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    I have the opportunity to purchase a new computer and I was looking at three options
    1. HP Pavilion 15.6 Intel Core I7 with Intel 4400 series Graphics (6 GB, 750 GB HD)
    2 .HP Pavilion 17.3 Intel Core I5 with Intel 4400 series Graphics (4 GB, 750 GB HD)
    3.. HP 15.6 AMD A8 series AMD Radeon HD 8210 Graphics (8 GB, 750 GB HD)

    I'm not a big gamer so I will not be gaming. And I've always trusted HP (Still have a ten year old machine going strong)

    Suggestions are welcome..
    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,938
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Moved Thread to This Forum For More Exposure!
     
  3. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Unless you're doing seriously CPU-intensive stuff, an i5 should be fine. I've also had good experience with AMD CPUs. But do go with quad-core. RAM is still inexpensive, so get at least 8 GB, and get a board that will hold at least 32 GB. I routinely use Linux software RAID, so I get boards with 4-6 SATA ports. Good ventilation is crucial, especially if you'll be running multiple HDDs, so get a box with a real from grill, and a slot (at least) for a front fan.
     
  4. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    See I have never had any AMD processors...do they just run slower then when doing resource intensive things perk up? The second one I mentioned worries me just slightly, just due to 4 GB/ram, but with that being said it does have the larger screen...(My goal is this to last 4-5 years)
     
  5. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Should be noted, these are laptops, not desktops. (obviously you know, but for everyone else). Read reviews on Amazon, Newegg or whatever for each model to get a feel of how people are liking them, obviously. That's always your best bet.

    Not at all. Only in high level benchmarks do the high end Intels outperform. Granted your specific CPU isn't going to be on here (and it's going to be a laptop version), here's some benchmarks to give you an idea: http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/amd_fx_8370_and_8370e_processor_review,11.html My point is, unless you're playing demanding games with multiple graphic cards, Intel or AMD- it don't matter. They're both great.

    Ram, ram is one of the few things you can easily upgrade on laptops. You could always max out what the board could take years later if you need it.
     
  6. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Sorry, I didn't see that these are notebooks :oops:

    AMD has been the underdog for years, trying to beat Intel. And sometimes they've been ahead, for a little while at least. Mostly they undersell, so are often a much better deal. See <http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i5-3210M-vs-AMD-A8-4500M> for example. We'd need more information (like model numbers) about the CPUs in these machines to say anything specific.

    A larger screen is most always better, unless you travel a lot and need to work in cramped places. More important than the RAM included is the maximum installable RAM, because RAM is so inexpensive. Also, it's better to add RAM sooner than later, because old RAM tends to cost more, especially if it's no longer being manufactured.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    @sportsfan7700 personally I would not buy an HP, and get a Lenovo Thinkpad because the quality should be a lot better, and the ongoing support from Lenovo in terms of BIOS and driver updates is far better than for just about any other brand of laptop.
     
  8. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    I would Roger, but they seem to be out of my $600 budget. (I'd like more then 500 GB)
     
  9. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Hi mir:
    HP - Pavilion 15.6" Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive -
    Processor Speed2.0GHz (with Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz)
    Intel® HD Graphics 4400

    or:
    HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 4GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive -
    1.7GHz (with Turbo Boost up to 2.7GHz)
    Intel® HD Graphics 4400

    or:
    HP - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - AMD A8-Series - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive
    2.0GHz (with Turbo CORE up to 2.4GHz)
    GraphicsAMD Radeon HD 8210

     
  10. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Thanks, but URLs would be better :)

    If the two with Intel CPUs are dual core, and the prices are comparable, I'd say that the third is the best deal. I also like the form factor.
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    That's a shame.

    For $325 you can get a refurbished T500 with a 750GB hard drive. But, the processor may be slow for you needs though.
     
  12. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Mir, they are and the 1st one is offically out of my budget at $549

    (Thought links would be stripped per TOS)
     
  13. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
  14. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Thanks :) The third one is definitely best. It has more cores, and more RAM. It costs less only because Intel is the market leader.
     
  15. DX2

    DX2 Guest


    The 3rd one if you can. More memory, but the GPU is a big upgrade also, which is a lot better.
     
  16. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
  17. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    But this is still dual core i5, right?
     
  18. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I would go with an i5 or i7 over an AMD. But also I would look into specifics about exactly what model# the CPU is... like not just 4400 series, but is it a 4410... 4420... 4460... etc... ? And look at what integrated functions come with it. That is important to me and can be a deal breaker. Especially if you're using virtualization. Does it have VT-d? Or just VT-x & EPT (which pretty much all i5's & i7's have). Trusted Execution Technology? Even my Core 2 Duo E8300 has these 2 things while many i5's & i7's don't. AES New Instructions too, if you use FDE.

    Unless speed is you're only concern, then forget everything I said.
     
  19. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
  20. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Well then, find one with the larger screen and the AMD CPU and graphics, plus 8 GB RAM. Also, look for one with an SSD. Those 5400 rpm HDDs are pretty slow.
     
  21. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
  22. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Even laptop SSDs are usually cheaper variants. Like the ram, that's a thing you can always replace. Watch for the things you can't and you're stuck with.
     
  23. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
Loading...