questions about windows wallpaper

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WSFuser, Jul 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2007
  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    the place that might have a setting you can change for that is performance options. i just looked it up and it's called use drop shadows for icon labels on the desktop
    i haven't tried it though. that's not a picture of my computer, i'm using linux atm and found that on the internet.

    http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/9145/image4rs5.jpg
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    That works when I have a BMP wallpaper but not JPG, which is what I want. Thanks though.
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Hello,
    I don't think .jpgs allow for transparency.
    You could try .png.
    Mrk
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I tried PNG but the icons still have the black background.

    Additionally, I noticed Windows does a poor job of stretching the PNG (and JPG too actually) compared to the BMP. Dont know why.
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Hello,
    Can you link to the examples you want to test?
    I'd like to run my own experiment.
    Mrk
     
  7. yeow

    yeow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    225
    I just tried using jpg wallpaper, and everything looked the same as when I was using bmp.

    By "lose their transparent background", are you referring to the black box background around the program titles ? I've read that using Active Desktop could be one reason for that.
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,312
    Location:
    England
  9. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @Mrk - Ive uploaded a zipped wallpaper here. You can using your favorite image program to convert it to JPG/PNG.

    @yeow - I cant find any option for Active Desktop. Youre suggesting it has to be off, correct?

    @stapp - That doesnt help, and this computer has XP. Later this day I will be back on my Vista machine. I wonder if it has this problem or not?...
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Hello,

    Default XP install, nothing tweaked.

    Took your .bmp, changed it to .png in IrfanView.
    Desktop > Right Click > Wallpaper > set it.

    Result:

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/images/non-web/test.png

    So I'm wondering where you might have gone wrong.

    Try:

    Right-click on My Computer > Advanced > Performance > Settings > Adjust for Best Appearance.

    Mrk
     
  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Thx Mrk, I was afraid it would work for you.

    To the nLite forums I go!
     
  12. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Hello,
    Maybe I could try the Human theme and see how it goes. I think that's what you're using, right? Or have you heavily tweaked your system besides?
    Mrk
     
  13. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hi.

    WSFuser, when you have this selected -

    Untitled-1.jpg

    your desktop icons' text will have solid background. Check that also.

    Cheers.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Mrk - Yes Im still using the human theme and yes my Windows is rather tweaked, but I was really hoping nLite would not be the culprit. As I said, Ive posted in their forums.

    The Seer - I have that unselected
     
  15. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
  16. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    just do this:
     

    Attached Files:

  17. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    The first XP suggestion does not work for me and the next two suggestions are for programs. WindowsFX, while not solving my problem, does looks cool. Im gonna check it out.
     
  18. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    oops sorry wsfuser, just saw that someone already suggested that and it didn't work for you for some reason
     
  19. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    WSFuser, the only other suggestion I found is to disable any web pages for your desktop. Right click desktop -> Properties -> Desktop -> Customize Desktop -> Web tab. Like in my screenshot -

    Untitled-1.jpg

    yeow already mentioned Active Desktop. This is how you disable it.

    BTW, if you find a solution/cause, by all means please report back. I am curious about this one...

    Cheers.
     
  20. yeow

    yeow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    225
    Apologies, WSFuser. I didn't realize it's not called Active Desktop anymore! (even though I'm using XP now)

    It's as what The Seer said in above post. Disable it, if it was somehow enabled by accident.
     
  21. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    sometimes a theme can break stuff and changing to another theme fixes it!
     
  22. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Nope its not the theme, Windows Classic and an iTiger theme I found just change the color but still a solid background.

    Im still waiting for nuhi to reply to my thread in the nlite forums.
     
  23. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    ok nuhi thinks it *may* be caused by the removal of the Windows Picture and Fax Viewer. I will need to test it to confirm though.
     
  24. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    WSFuser,

    Look here.. Now, that dll is a Windows Picture and Fax Viewer library. Take a look here also, comment #24.
    On the other side, if you omitted Picture and Fax viewer from the installation using nLite, you may not even have a dll on your system. Try the suggested, I believe no harm can be done...
    Quite annoying little problem. :doubt:
     
  25. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yes I already discovered the dll. I was just about to post that registering shimgvw.dll solves the problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.