Questions about RIS.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by paulimmoos, Jan 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Questions about RIS/WDS

    Is there details anywhere about the RIS side of the program? Acronis site seems to be scarce with support info, along with the user guide.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2008
  2. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    removed to clarify.....

    I was able to get a little further
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2008
  3. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Ok trying this on another machine I get:

    E0046000A: Failed to build the bootable media.

    (0x46000A) Tag = 0xCD91BB81F27471BA

    So is there a connection issue to my server? Or is it not letting me write to the server?

    edit: RIS/WDS reinstalled and in mixed mode.


    Update: to add more infor to this, I took the ISO bootable and extracted it. I moved the files over to the RIS/WDS server and pointed to them as the boot section. If i use bootwiz.cfg, PXE dl's it, then it says Acronis Loader: No config file present.

    I've tried every other file and this one works the best as to getting me anywhere.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2008
  4. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Updated orginal messages, further along then I was but am not stuck at the PXE booting.

    As evidence the RIS/WDS server is working, I am able to load and capture my current OS from PXE. So I know the problem is somewhere with Acronis.
     
  5. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    anyone?
     
  6. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    Sorry Paul but i haven't a clue what RIS is, so ACRONIS please help.
     
  7. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Yea that would be nice if I could get an answer through them. We are about ready to shell the money out for licenses if we could get the application to work this way as it will save a ton of time and money if we have to do a bare metal restore.

    I suppose support is faster if you buy the maintence agreement.
     
  8. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    another update:

    Downloaded the trial edition of Enterpise, was able to copy to the RIS/WDS server. Now I just need to get it into the boot options.

    The files Acronis is creating is being put under the legacy files, so they don't come up the same in wds. Any ideas?
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do the versions of TI that you're testing support creating a bootable flashdrive?

    I ask because there have been other posts about PXE and getting Acronis to boot. The files created on the flashdrive are different than the ones in the CD/ISO build. It may be worth taking a look if it supports it and you haven't already.
     
  10. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    You wouldn't call it a flash drive, really just booting from a network drive with some fancy services inbetween. It should be nearly identical to the ISO.

    Acronis should support it since their software menus you follow and their software that creates the RIS image and places it on the WDS server that is running in mixed mode. Mixed mode allows support for RIS images and WDS images,
     
  11. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Ok, I'm able to boot to the RIS image Acronis created, I wasn't going far enough into the Remote Installation boot screen that comes up. After entering my network auth credentials, I am then presented with a list of legacy RIS images.

    It would be nice if Acronis updated their software to place the Image on the WDS server isntead of RIS. As WDS will only be offered in Server '08 and is currently offerend in Server 2003 R2.

    Now I just need to look at how to convert the image to .wim format.

    Thanks so much for helping Acronis, yes alot of sarcasm there.

    But my supervisor and I like the extra options on Acronis True Image and want to mover foward with it, so it looks like I will be here frequently. Hopefully not with problems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.