Questions about ActiveX and Quarantined items

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by newbie2247, Feb 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newbie2247

newbie2247 Registered Member

I am new to Vista Premium, forums, ESET Nod32 and not patricularly savvy to all things computer and Internet related, so don't laugh at my dumb questions. OK, go ahead, laugh. :)

I checked my add-ons in IE7 and found approx. 30 ActiveX files. I almost had a heart attack! :eek: I heard that these things can be malicious so with 30 of them, how do I pick and choose which ones to delete or disable, seriously? 99%of them say that they are from HP, Sun & MS but I'm sure that means diddley squat. A lot of them run "without permission". I tell you, I am scared to death here and hope that Nod32 is able to protect me which brings me to my second question.

This week I peeked in my log files and other ones. When I went into my quarantined files, I was again shocked to find over half a dozen files in there. One of them was from this week. Talk about a surprise. o_O

What do I do with these files? How long do I keep them there? I submit everything to ESET Nod32 automatically but have never heard back from them. I guess they stay there forever, right? Or is there something else I am supposed to do?

My hope is that ESET is protecting me from them doing anything bad. Can anyone here please tell me if this is so?

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

Most of them are Microsoft own things . You may have never seen them before if you have used IE6 or earlier versions on XP or older OS. This appears in IE7 only . You kind of have better control which is kind of scary for home users , but it is normal . Here , check :

add-ons_in_IE7.png

They can be as malicious as life , hope you get it ;)

Sure NOD32 protects against anything malicious and there is really no need to panic!

Simple and short => Nothing