Question regarding going back to 8.0.937

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by thebigdintx, Oct 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    When I uninstall version 9.0.2289, and go to install 8.0.937 instead on my computer, a message pops up telling me that there are newer drivers installed than the ones I am trying to install, and it asks me if I want to replace the newer drivers with the older ones. Do I want to do that so that 8.0.937 functions properly ?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Not sure, I'm minded to say yes, because v8.x obviously didn't know about the updated drivers.

    However, what drivers is it notifying you about? If they are MS update drivers then it may well be OK -- though I have in the past downloaded updated drivers and found my system then had an attack of the sulks.

    Not much help really was I?

    Colin
     
  3. Snakeyes

    Snakeyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    REplace the newer drivers.
     
  4. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Yes. Do it and your 937 should run fine.
     
  5. Peter Mac

    Peter Mac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    sounds like you didn't get a clean uninstall. If you can't overwrite or replace the newer drivers consider trying something like Norton Cleansweep to completely uninstall TI 9 and then reinstall TI 8
     
  6. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas

    I can overwrite/replace the newer drivers with the older ones for version 8, but I was just asking whether I should do that or not.
     
  7. Jbmoar

    Jbmoar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    San Jose,Costa Rica
    You can do a upgrade/Repair Install to install true image 8 on top Of true image 9, it will replace everything with true image 8 but you will probably be asked for your true image 8 serial number when installing true image 8, Once installed if you wish you can then remove the true image 8 and do A Clean install, I Have done this and worked as I Replaced my true image 9 install with true image 8
     
  8. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    When asked to over-write the newer files (as I recall there were two) you should answer Yes. Doing a clean install may not return these to the previous state. I don't know the answer to this. Replacing the TI9 files by answering Yes should eliminate that as a factor. I've done it here with successful results.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.