Question regarding computer security self check?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by CraigM31, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CraigM31

    CraigM31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Des Moines Iowa
    Just wondering if there is any site on the internet that I can go use (for free) to check my new computer security software? I hope this is the right area for posting this question if not please feel free to move this post, thanks!

    Craig
     
  2. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    To test your Antivirus, try downloading the EICAR file. http://eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm

    This test does not give an indication of how good or bad an AV is, it just tells you if the AV is properly configured to check web downloads.

    To test your firewall, go to https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
    somewhere in that page there is a firewall test section.

    Also you can download go to http://www.firewallleaktester.com/ and download some of the tests.


    I would highly recommend the Secunia PSI scanner (www.secunia.com), this app searches your system and tells you if you have unpatched software installed.
     
  3. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    At Grc.com, the link you are looking for is "ShieldsUp". This will test the ability of your firewall/router to block incoming attacks.

    I second using Secunia PSI, it not only does as Hurst says, but also alerts you to updates (I THINK, not 100% sure)
     
  4. CraigM31

    CraigM31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Des Moines Iowa
    Thanks for the links DW426 and Hurst! Kaspersky instantly notified me of and blocked the fake viruses and Spysweeper stopped me from downloading another bad file! Plus Shields Up said that all my ports passed inspection and that my computer was very secure! Looks like I'm all set!
     
  5. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    While Secunia is excellent, no question about it, keep in mind that they only check for security-related upgrades, patches, etc. So anything not security related, like bug fixes etc., won't show up there.
     
  6. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    i had a bad experience with psi i went to uninstall it and it would not fully remove itself finally after the third install and remove it did. why would it do this? is it maybe because i left my AV on when i first installed it. i would like to use this program but don't want the headache again if i ever need to remove it for some reason.
     
  7. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Possibly a service got glitched and was still running or something, it happens with all software sometimes. I also wanted to add a note about Secunia PSI, it won't always detect security/bug fixes for all software.
     
  8. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    i see do you think its worth installing again dose it use much system resources as i understand it is on all the time in back ground? no help from secunia area i can't even find a forum for them lol.
     
  9. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    cruser921, Are you talking about the online version or the version you download? I've always used the online version in my sig. Here is a list of applications is looks for. http://secunia.com/software_inspector_applications/

    Also, the download version is still a release candidate (RC-3) version. Therefore it's probably not quite ready for prime time. https://psi.secunia.com/
     
  10. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    yeah the d-loaded version is the one i had on my pc that would not remove itself totally i thought maybe it was the cause of my pc slow down as i just installed it. but it wasn't i figured out that was my AV. i had to reinstall 3 times to get it to remove fully lol. i think something corrupted the install like my av. but secunia swears that they have allot people using it so i was wondering do you think it would be worth another install of it. maybe this time i turn off my av totally before a install.
     
  11. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    You could try turning off the AV while installing and uninstalling. You could also try unistalling in safe mode. It could be that PSI just doesn't like your machine or maybe it has a bad uninstaller. Sometimes that happens :(. Or, you could also opt to use the online version and forget about installing it.

    There are other similar apps like PSI, but I have not tried them. There should be a thread or two about them in the software and services forum. One of the programs is called Sumo.
     
  12. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    to your knowledge i did not get to use it long but how much system resources do you think it uses beings it sites in the background.
     
  13. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
  14. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    ok thanks
     
  15. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    @cruser
    Secunia PSI has an option to disable it from running at start up. I just turn it on once a month and check my software.
     
  16. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    ok cool
     
  17. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    cruser921, I've been using the Secunia PSI pretty much since it was released, and not had a significant problem with it.
    There is a feedback form within the program, so it certainly wouldn't hurt to send them your experiences with the difficult uninstall.
    I've uninstalled it two or three times now, once for troubleshooting (unrelated) and twice for PSI upgrades. No problem.
    On my XP home system it's using ~46MB of RAM (viewed in task manager), and connects to the internet every startup.
    I've found it extremely useful, and often (but not always) faster to advise me about apps. needing updating than the app. itself does. (Windows update, once, SunJava every time, and a couple of others.)
    It will also notify concerning end of life programs, you can choose to exclude these from alerts if you wish, and a balloon tip pops up pretty much immediately when installing/uninstalling most software.
     
  18. cruser921

    cruser921 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    cool i think it was related to my AV software will try a reinstall tomorrow thanks i will leave on all the time thats not to much ram usage :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.