Question re: Webroot Spy Sweeper

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by mrm3601, Sep 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrm3601

mrm3601 Registered Member

I've been using SuperAntiSpyware Professional for a few months now. A friend of mine bought me the latest version of Spy Sweeper and I've installed it. Now, I run SAS only on demand.

Two observations:

1. I could be wrong, but I think that Spy Sweeper catches more cookies than does SAS (but even if this is correct I don't know how important it is).
    2. When I run Spy Sweeper and I move the mouse such that the screen saver goes off I notice that the entire Spy Sweeper image goes black for a few seconds (and then it returns to normal)

I also use Registry Mechanic to occasionally scan the registry. Every time I run it it indicates some 110 errors for Spy Sweeper. I don't know if this is serious or not.

In any case, I'm thinking of removing Spy Sweeper from my pc.

Any comments will be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Taliscicero

Taliscicero Registered Member

1: Cookies are not dangerous.
    2: Its a bug in the program maybe because you deleted some files with .reg cleaner.

Extra: On personal oppinion SAS is more bang for buck then spysweeper and in most test has a better detection rate.

Advice: After spysweeper subscription runs out get the Pro version of SAS and you will find it alot better for your needs :)

Afterthought: Spysweeper takes up alot of memory compaired to SAS.

3. mrm3601

mrm3601 Registered Member

Thanks 3DFireStarteR.

You confirmed my guess about Spy Sweeper. I'll be removing it from my pc and I'll buy the pro version of SuperAntiSpware Professional. What about adding Malwarebyte's anti-malware as on demand scanner?

Thanks again.

4. Fly

Fly Registered Member

Is the PRO version of SAS really better than the free version ?
    If I'm not mistaken PRO provides real-time protection.
    I presume you have an AV ?