Question re: GeSWall vs. DefenseWall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fluteman, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fluteman

fluteman Registered Member

Hi all,

While not new to security, I'm new to Wilder forums and just started to learn about with virtualization and HIPS software. After reading a bunch of threads both here and other web sites, I think that a HIPS app would be better for my needs then a sandbox.

I've narrowed this down to GeSWall (freeware version) and DefenseWall, hence my questions - what are the differences between these two apps (aside from price)? and which one has the better "track record" of keeping the nasties locked away from critical system resourceso_O?

My current defense consists of a Watchguard SOHO firewall, Kaspersky ISS 7 (with Proactive Defense enabled), along with SpyBot S&D, Spyware Blaster. These keep most of the stuff out, but not necessarily those things that I might accidentally invite in through web surfing and file downloads.

All advise welcome...

2. Antarctica

Antarctica Registered Member

3. trjam

trjam Registered Member

the simple way is to trial both and see what fits your needs.

4. LoneWolf

LoneWolf Registered Member

Good choices.
    As trjam suggests trialing both is the way to go.
    You can't go wrong with either one IMO.
    (Don't count out the paid version of GesWall)

5. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

It seems a bit unfair to put a freeware version of GeSWall up against a paid software like DefenseWall. Isn't the playing field more level if you were to compare GeSWall Pro Edition to DefenseWall? I think so.

This page will show you the enhancements that come with GeSWall Pro Edition. I have tried DefenseWall and for whatever reason, could not get it to operate properly on my computers. I also had difficulty understanding it, although I read many comments here at Wilders from folks who say it is simpler than GeSWall.