Question about VMware?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Firebolt059, Feb 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebolt059

    Firebolt059 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Posts:
    50
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Okay mr. bumpy. The reason is simple. The questions you ask. If you were up to handling what you are talking about doing, you wouldn't need to ask the questions.

    Finally, if you have a junk machine, just image it, and don't bother with VM ware.
     
  3. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,237
    Its easy enough to see if test results are outdated or not,,,just look at the date the tests were performed. As to where to find info look through the forum index. There are Wilders forums dedicated to security issues. I would expect you will find many experts in the field hanging out on these boards and they will be able to provide you with a great deal of info and guidance.

    Also I never suggested that you could not handle virtualization I am just suggesting that thats not the best way to go. If you prefer to do it with Vware by all means but as I said you are adding an extra layer of work which is really not necessary.
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,620
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Firebolt, if you have a spare machine you can start testing malware the way "TheIgster" did in this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=265873

    All you need is a program like 'Shadow Defender' (it will cost you 35 $, but well worth it) or Returnil free (see dedicated forum here at Wilders).

    http://www.shadowdefender.com/

    They are called light virtualizers, but if you don't need to reboot your computer for testing programs they are ideal for malware. During the virtual session you can download whatever you fancy and once you reboot it will be all gone.

    Learning to backup your system with an image would give you 100% peace of mind (Macrium Reflect has a free version you could test)

    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp
     
  5. Firebolt059

    Firebolt059 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Posts:
    50
    HWat do you mean by "image" the PC? how can i do that?
     
  6. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.