Question about trial and commercial version

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Mcwaffle, Oct 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mcwaffle

    Mcwaffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello, I just bought a copy of ESS(home use). Before this I had the trial version of ESS, so upon reading the email with registrations code and so on I notice this

    Why is this? Can't I just use my keys and paste them into the program to get the full license working?
     
  2. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi! Interesting, on the ESET's website is written: "To ensure a smooth transition, ESET recommends uninstalling your current protection before installing ESET software.". I think that when you copy & past paid name and password, there won't be a problem.
     
  3. Mcwaffle

    Mcwaffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I guess so too, it's just weird.

    Does the trial version not include what the full version does or something?
     
  4. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Trial version includes all features of paid version. ;)
     
  5. Mcwaffle

    Mcwaffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Alright, thanks man.
     
  6. Mcwaffle

    Mcwaffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Is there actually any way to monitor how many days you left on your subscription?
     
  7. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Of course. Go to Help and support => About ESET Smart Security or card "Protection status". There you'll see "Licence valid until".
     
  8. Mcwaffle

    Mcwaffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I'm not able to find it anywhere under Help and Support mate.
     
  9. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    It'll be there, when you connect on update server. Sometimes it disappear. :)
     
  10. rwt325

    rwt325 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    Strasburg VA
    I had to uninstall NOD 32 before I could install ESS. Maybe this has changed with newer versions of ESS but Eset's advice was always the same. Best to follow it. No big deal uninstalling NOD 32. Just typing in new key did not work for me.
     
  11. Mcwaffle

    Mcwaffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I never had NOD32, I had ESS from the beginning, that's what confusing me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.