question about task manager

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Aug 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    should the sum of available memory + system cache = total memory?


    - HandsOff
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2005
  3. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Hello Tex -

    I'm not surprised the answer is no, but I cannot fathom the accounting method. The diffrence between the two quantities in round numbers is only 6000k...

    when my computer shuts down, there is some process that does not stop running, so the memory is not freed up. This happens every shut down and is probably the reason my computer restarts instead of shuts down - Even though I have automatic restart deselected.

    At any rate I can't figure out a way to identify the process. I was hoping there was some way of accounting for memory so I could narrow the list of suspect processes down.

    I will check those links, but I thought I'd describe my problem a little more so you'd know what I was looking for.

    Actually, I guess I asked the wrong question in the first place. I should be asking about memory leakage. Thinking can be a very slow process for me!

    Incidentally, that second link was pretty interesting to me since I have wondered about the memory setting in which you choose between allocating more memory for cache or programs. Apparently there is a good chance of hurting your perfomance if you change it from the default programs setting. So tinker with your cache size, but for that setting....

    ...HandsOff!

    -HandsOff
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2005
  4. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Hi Handsoff

    I'm not sure if this will solve your problem but there is a program
    called Win Tasks which shows you all running processes CPU and memory
    usages + many other things.
    Maybe you could shut all known running programs down and then
    check with Win Tasks what is still running and see if you can decipher
    from that where the problem is

    You can download a free trial of WIN tasks Pro from here
    http://www.liutilities.com/products/trial/

    Hope this helps

    Tex
     
  5. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Actually I do use Wintasks. I don't consider it quite as reliable with memory usage as good old task manager. I use it because it is so much easier to see at a glance what is running!

    I'm not sure how to approach this. I just updated a couple of programs and removed something from scheduled tasks. there are non-related improvements, but no effect on the problem.

    There is something that makes me wonder...when webroot window washer is set to clean at program start, it will sometimes ask to shut internet explorer first. But internet explorer is not running. normally it only asks this if the browser is open. now i lean towards thinking it is related to IE

    -HandsOff
     
  6. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Hi Handsoff

    Maybe a reinstall of Internet Explorer will cure it.

    Tex
     
  7. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Tex-

    I think I will just wait this out and see if it goes away or becomes obvious. I view the un/installation of xp/ie updates with the same reservation some people have for editing the registry. Thanks anyway.


    -HandsOff
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.