Question about random scanning

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by lopaka, Jan 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Can someone tell me how to stop the random scanning by NOD32?
    I am using NOD32 version 4.2.71.2 and many times when I am working in Photoshop my NOD32 starts to scan for whatever reason. Is there a way to disable this because not only is it annoying but it lags my computer while I am working in programs like PS.
    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    66,866
    Location:
    Texas
  3. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info!
    So basically I can't stop this from happening I have to exclude all the folders?
    Kinda defeats the purpose of having that no?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    66,866
    Location:
    Texas
    Is Photoshop the only program that causes a lag? If so, I would exclude it and do an on demand scan occasionally.
     
  5. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    I am just trying to stop NOD32 from running a random scan. Many times the scan comes on when I am doing something that's cpu intensive so I don't need my NOD32 running a scan 10-12 times a day..
    For example it comes on everytime I am downloading clipart and runs a 2-3 min scan. I know it needs to scan the downloaded item but why does it need to do a 2-3 min scan? The old versions never did this.
    Thanks!
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    66,866
    Location:
    Texas
    Real time scanning is always in effect. Not sure why NOD32 would start a system scan randomly..

    Have you checked your settings in the program.
     
  7. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Can you reaffirm me on the right settings because I tried everything and nada.
    I guess I could upgrade to version 5 though but I still want to make sure I have the correct settings.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    66,866
    Location:
    Texas
    You could try Version 5 at the default settings.

    Clip Art can be a vector for malware and will be scanned.

    More information on your system would probably be helpful for those that would help you.
     
  9. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Oh I understand about scanning anything you download I just don't understand the 2-3min scans afterwards.
    Will try version 5 I guess.
    Thanks!
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Just to make sure, do you mean that an on-demand scan is started? Or it's a scan with web protection after files are downloaded or a startup scan that is run on a computer startup as well as after an update?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.