Question about random scanning

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by lopaka, Jan 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Can someone tell me how to stop the random scanning by NOD32?
    I am using NOD32 version 4.2.71.2 and many times when I am working in Photoshop my NOD32 starts to scan for whatever reason. Is there a way to disable this because not only is it annoying but it lags my computer while I am working in programs like PS.
    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  3. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info!
    So basically I can't stop this from happening I have to exclude all the folders?
    Kinda defeats the purpose of having that no?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Is Photoshop the only program that causes a lag? If so, I would exclude it and do an on demand scan occasionally.
     
  5. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    I am just trying to stop NOD32 from running a random scan. Many times the scan comes on when I am doing something that's cpu intensive so I don't need my NOD32 running a scan 10-12 times a day..
    For example it comes on everytime I am downloading clipart and runs a 2-3 min scan. I know it needs to scan the downloaded item but why does it need to do a 2-3 min scan? The old versions never did this.
    Thanks!
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Real time scanning is always in effect. Not sure why NOD32 would start a system scan randomly..

    Have you checked your settings in the program.
     
  7. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Can you reaffirm me on the right settings because I tried everything and nada.
    I guess I could upgrade to version 5 though but I still want to make sure I have the correct settings.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    You could try Version 5 at the default settings.

    Clip Art can be a vector for malware and will be scanned.

    More information on your system would probably be helpful for those that would help you.
     
  9. lopaka

    lopaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Oh I understand about scanning anything you download I just don't understand the 2-3min scans afterwards.
    Will try version 5 I guess.
    Thanks!
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Just to make sure, do you mean that an on-demand scan is started? Or it's a scan with web protection after files are downloaded or a startup scan that is run on a computer startup as well as after an update?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.