Question about Norton Security license

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mortal Raptor, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I just bought a 1 year license for Norton Security, while purchasing, it said 5 devices, is that for both computers and mobiles?

    Seems a bit too good to be true to pay for 1 license and be able to install it on on 5 computers? That's like a 5 user license for the price of one?
     
  2. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Norton AV = 5 Devices - any devices you want.
    Norton AV+Backup = 10 Devices - any devices you want.

    Indeed it is one of the best bargains out there!
     
  3. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Firstly, thank you for clearing this up.

    Secondly, I bought it and to give it another try as you know having the double icons in the tray menu but since that only happened on Windows 8 which I never use, so I am ok I guess since I use Windows 7

    Thirdly, this is one heck of a deal to be honest. They had a promotion on their site that slashed the price from 44 USD to 35 USD for a license so I quickly grabbed.

    Interface is amazing, it now has a firewall built in so no need to upgrade to NIS, it's all in one

    Their performance optimizer is superb! for the first time, I don't see some bloat that doesn't work, I loved the delay option of apps so you can choose the apps that don't really matter like java update, etc. to start later and speed up your boot.

    I tried their disk optimizer, praying to god that it wouldn't defragment my SSDs........ and that's exactly what it did! it skipped my 3 SSDs which I have in my system and only defragmented the external HDD!

    They have put a lot of work into this man

    One suggestion I made to them in the past which is when adding exclusions to show all system hidden files even if the option is not selected in the folder options in control panel like NOD32, Panda, Kaspersky, and F-Secure do, but they didn't listen, not a biggie, it can't be all perfect as I wish

    but loving the performance of this

    Thank you for urging me to try it again, I wouldn't have done it without your constant praising of Norton lately ;)
     
  4. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    BTW Mayhana, is there a way to custom install without the Norton Toolbar?

    I have disabled it in Firefox but can one like not have it at all or it has to come with the bundle?
     
  5. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Toolbar is bundled, but you can install it then disable it within the browser to stop the nags. I agree, it's a fantastic package all around. Very happy with it. Over the last 24 hours I evaluated 3-4 other packages, and all came up short compared to Norton for me, so I am sticking with my 2 year license for Norton AV+BU.

    Fast, light, great reputation system, and no bloat with excellent support. Can't go wrong.
     
  6. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    indeed bro. very impressive package
     
Loading...