Question about firefox

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SonyaM32, Dec 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    I just today started using firefox 1.0. My question is, where on the options can I delete internet files, and other, like that on my I.E. ? I always everyday deleted offline content, and temp, files. I do not see where I can do this with firefox.
    Thanx Sonya :D
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    under preferences you can delete cache files and history.

    preferences/advanced/cache
     
  3. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    May I ask where preferences is at ? Sorry I don't know much, :D :D :D
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    On the top of the firefox tool bar on top of the page click on tools then preferences then advanced then cache and you have the option to clear the cache and history. I am telling you this from memory, if it is not on the advanced tab it will be on one of the others in options. but I think it is in the advanced tab under cache
     
  5. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    HAHA, THANX it is way over at the left. It takes me a bit to get used to new stuff. Thanx for your help :D :D :D :D :D
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    here is a screen shot of it under privacy, sorry about the mistake
     

    Attached Files:

  7. gre87y

    gre87y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    164
    Good to see your trying firefox Sonja.. I think you'll be much happier and safer.
     
  8. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    You will never go back to IE Sonya!........tabbed browsing is great!.....right click-open in new tab, right click-open in new tab, right click-open in new tab....I got 25 Wilders pages open at present!
    Cheers,
    Buck.
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  10. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
  11. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Very funny BigBuck and for SonyaM32, you know you shold still be able to go into Internet Explorer and delete your tepory files and so on just as you did before.

    Jimbob
     
  12. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Bigbuck...
    I'm getting tired of this constant 1-2 exchange with JB...
    seriuosly speaking... are both of you 12 years old?
    I know JB is 15, but you seemed slightly older than him.
    C'mon man... find a new target!
    Crowd: *gasp*
    Thundering voice from the crowd: Blasphemy! There shall be no other but JB at the receiving end.... It has been pre-ordained.
     
  13. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    *cough* BigBuck' Birthday: July 16, 1966

    Jimbob
     
  14. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    SonyaM32

    Portable Firefox works with CD and DVD drives too.

    What JB meant was that now even tho' you have FireFox, you still can use IE *just like before*... Many people are confused whether IE will get "damaged" and are apprehensive, but most separate browsers don't even touch IE.
     
  15. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Hence the word "seemed" was Italicized. C'mon JB. Think. ( not (c) by IBM , I Think)
     
  16. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    There are no doubt a lot of things we don't know about bigbuck :D

    Jimbob
     
  17. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    quit Hijacking this thread.
    Note to self: have a new subforum created so that JB and BB canhave "phun" with each other.
     
  18. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Bigbuck, what is tabbed browsing ? And right click on what, to open in new tab ? :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D Thank you for understanding that I need details. LOL
     
  19. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    Do not want to sound like a party pooper, but is not tab browsing one of the selling points of firefox which has been highlighted many times before
     
  20. gre87y

    gre87y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    164
    Yes it is Galtar but she has never used it before and is trying to learn.
    Merry Christmas
     
  21. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,721
    Location:
    Texas
    SonyaM32

    Don't forget the help file that comes with Firefox. It's a good one. :)
     
  22. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Sonya, Right click on any bookmark or link and you can choose; open in new tab....you can have as many open as you like and quickly flick between pages.

    Only trying to help!! :doubt:

    See screenie;
     

    Attached Files:

  23. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Thanx everyone. :cool:
    Bigbuck, how did you get your bookmarks over to the left like that in the screen shot ? Sort of like I.E's favorites showed. Rite now, mine are when I click bookmarks at the top, and they all drop down.
    I am sorry for so many questions. But just to let you all know, i've learned so much here !
     
  24. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Sonya,
    Go View...Sidebar.....Bookmarks.
    Under Bookmarks...you can then....manage bookmarks...ie create new folders...rearrange etc.
    Cheers,
    Buck.
     
  25. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    PS> If you didn't already choose to import them from IE when you installed FF, you can go...file....import.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.