Question about Firefox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Jim Verard, Mar 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jim Verard

    Jim Verard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    205
    Hi there!

    I need to make login on my board system using two different accounts, but I was unable to make Firefox (installed on two different directories) behave like each one of them were different browsers, not accessing the same cookies. Is there any Firefox version (or any other browser) that can do this job? :)
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Create another profile ...
    Mrk
     
  3. Jim Verard

    Jim Verard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    205
    Hi there,
    I don't see any option or file related as a profile. Do you have any idea how this can be done?

    I just found a directory called profile but all files inside have nothing related to my problem.
     
  4. Jim Verard

    Jim Verard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    205
    Hmmm, I saw how the profile thing is working, but I am affraid this is not what I want.

    You need to type firefox.exe -profilemanager if you are using Windows (XP) to manage your profiles.

    But this is not what I want. I want to use two usernames in my site at the same time, not one now, and another a minute later.

    I was able to do that by copying the Opera directory to another location (I make a full copy of the original directory), but it was necessary for me to fill the same options again (generate passwords, adjust all configs, etc. all over again).

    What I need is that Firefox or some other browser can behave like if started again, it's the same box, but it's another authenticated session and another cookies which are being read.

    Firefox is accessing a hidden directory with the directory of each profile, then I suppose it's not possible to use more than a single profile everytime.

    When you have your default profile being used and you try to open firefox.exe again, you are being redirected to the profile you are using this moment.

    So, you can't use two accounts/usernames at the same time.

    This is bad. I know that plenty of softwares can do that, why not these browsers?
     
  5. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    but alas you can run 2 different Firefox profiles at the same time and log into 2 different accounts with 2 different usernames at the same website at the same time :p.

    Create another profile with

    firefox.exe" -CreateProfile Mark

    Run this profile and long into your account.

    Now run a 2nd Firefox with

    firefox.exe" -no-remote -P Mark

    To use it often again create another shortcut to Mozilla Firefox one on your Desktop.

    Right click properties and put this in Target
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe” -no-remote -P Mark

    This will work for more than 2 accounts also.

    Replace Mark with your username

    Alternatively if you have Firefox 3, you can download the Firefox IE Tab addon
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419?application=firefox&id=1419

    you log into one account in Firefox and the other Firefox IE tab in another account.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.