Quarantine Directory Not Found

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Dazed_and_Confused, May 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    The main screen of WG has a path for the quarantine directory. THe default directory path was "c:\quarantine". I modified it to be "c:\Wormguard\quarantine". I don't see either directory. Does WG create this direcitory when it first tries to quarantine a file, or am I supposed to create this directory? o_O
     
  2. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    I'm assuming no reply means for the first time (that I've seen), everyone at Wilders (including the folks from DCS) have no answers. :(
     
  3. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    I have an answer, just compiling a reply/pics, sec...

    TAS
     
  4. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    ok.. first.. What I had done was create a 'Quarantine' folder within the Wormguard directory, not just in C:\ drive.

    Now, to get it to quarantine, you must have options checked like my GUI, then when the warning window comes up you 'Select' what you want it to do.

    Nothing, delete, quarantine, etc.

    first pic... checked options...

    TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Now when the warning comes up... from the drop down list of what actions to take.. select Quarantine...


    OK that.... a confirmation window comes up saying it's done, OK that, and it's gone to the Quarantine folder... but..

    it has changed the extensions yet again, to a harmless .txt file + it has added an ANALYSIS.txt file giving information regarding it...

    see pic...

    HTH, TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, Tassie. So you DO have to create the directory yourself. I'll do that now and give it a test. :D
     
  7. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi D&C:

    I'm not too sure if you *had* to, I just did, as wanted it kept within the WG directory itself. Never tried it at all first. I did that myself after first installing and playing around.

    Maybe it would have created it's own Quarantine folder in C:\ if not there, don't know. :D

    TAS
     
  8. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Tass: Just to let you know, it will create the directory for you once you quarantine something for the first time. Suggestion for next version: Have the app check for the existence of the directory when entered into the dialog box.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.