QTWeb browser- anyone using it?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Oct 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I use it occasionally.
    It has some nice features and tends to render most sites that I visit well.
    It does load slow, but not as slow as Firefox.
    On my system it runs lighter than Opera.

    It apparently uses the WebKit engine.
     
  3. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Task Manager in XP shows it using 48,000k.

    I attached a screenshot of the Privacy tab otions in QTweb browser.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    These are the Tools > Options > Privacy settings in this screenshot.

    QTweb also has compatability mode (user agent) and it saves passwords on some sites.

    I like it. Not as much as Opera though.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    I used it in the past, but found then, memory usage was high (nearly 250+MB) with only a few tabs open and say 20 minutes of browsing. Crashed a few too many times.

    But, might have improved since then.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks.

    Seems so many browser option indeed.
     
  7. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    It is a very nice portable browser that runs OK on older machines. Not something I use all the time, but do have it on a USB stick that I use occassionaly.

    Sul.
     
  8. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Ditto fo me.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i tried it but had to many issues with it and it ran pretty slow for me on a few systems.
     
  10. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Count me in with Pedro and Sully. It's on my USB and I run it a few times a month.

    I like it. When I first tried it, my home page wouldn't render. I posted in their forum and the next version worked. So that's pretty cool!
     
  11. wembleyy

    wembleyy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Posts:
    47
    i'been using a while need lots of work still
     
  12. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I'm looking at QTWeb closer and I noticed a few things about it.
    On the plus side it has been stable for me.
    The down side is the slow load time and it doesn't remember passwords for every website.
    It needs work, but it's decent imo.
     
  13. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    It works in WinPE2. I use it with my custom boot WIM based on Active Boot Disk/MS DaRT.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.