Q:sygate pro allow or block it??

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by openfire, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. openfire

    openfire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    HI all!!
    my os win2000,what's Services and controller app??
    sygate pro5.5 allow or block?? o_O
    thank!!
     
  2. openfire

    openfire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    help。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。me!!!
     
  3. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi openfire

    Can you advise what communication it is attempting.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  4. Morpheus

    Morpheus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    I use Sygate Free but if you have a Cable Modem or DSL and use DHCP you probably want to allow it. The problem is (with the free version at least) that lots of services run through this app but Sygate doesn't distinguish between them (it is known not to stop things going through local proxies).

    Morpheus
     
  5. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I'm on Roadrunner cable and I block it with Syate. I say, as with most anything yer unsure of, block and it if you don't have any problems, leave it that way.
     
  6. openfire

    openfire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    i have 2 result.
     
  7. openfire

    openfire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    i have 2 result.
    1,I'm on adsl and I block it with Syate pro,i still connect with internet.
    2,if i I block it with za pro,i can't connect with internet.
     
  8. da cat

    da cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    I previously ran Sygate free on a W2000 machine with no problems when I didn't allow services and controller access and I was always able to access the internet. I tend to not allow anything I'm not sure of the first time it tries to run without using the "Remember my answer and do not ask me again for this application" option and then if everything is ok then I will block it permanently.

    da cat
     
  9. openfire

    openfire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    thanks all!!!! :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.