Purchased MBAM won't finish bootups

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by twl845, Dec 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, I purchased a license and registered my free copy of MBAM. I excluded MBAM from my NOD32 AV, made my copy of Superantispyware my on demand anti-spyware and made it so it has no system tray icon and excluded MBAM in it. I excluded MBAM from my Outpost Firewall. The problem I have since I activated the Protection module in MBAM, is that every couple of times I boot up or re-start my computer it boots up to the end, and when I move the arrow, it turns into a hand and nothing responds. I can't click Ctrl Alt Delete either. I click icons or Start and nothing happens. If I hover the hand over the task bar it turns into the rotating hour glass. The only thing to do is a hard shut down and reboot to see if it boots OK. Does anyone know the solution? Thanks in advance. :p
     
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    You made sure you excluded all of these?

    For Windows Vista or Windows 7:

    * C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
    * C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    * C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    * C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
    * C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
    * C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys



    For 64 bit versions of Windows Vista or Windows 7:

    * C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
    * C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    * C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    * C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
    * C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
    * C:\Windows\SysWoW64\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    OOPS I forgot to mention I am using XPsp3.
    I excluded:
    c:\program files\malwarebytes' anti-malware\mbam.exe
    c:\program files\malwarebytes' anti-malware\mbam gui.exe
    c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\malwarebytes' antimalware\rules.ref
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\mbam.sys
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\mbam swiss army.sys

    Could I have skipped something? Thanks for the help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
  4. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Well, its either conflicting with Outpost or Nod32. Try disabling Nod32 or outpost and reboot. If you reboot after disabling one and no problems booting we then know whats conflicting.

    Update: Looks like it might be Nod32 https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=260932
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 24, 2009
  5. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    im running Eset ss with MBAM pro realtime . Yet i had no problem at all. I didnt exclude any files.
    I have been using those for more than 1 year.:)
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Ibrad, Thanks for referring me to that other thread. I have posted to the fellow with the same problem as mine. He seems to have solved it. Merry Christmas!:D
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. FanJ
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    793
  2. NonGeek
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,677
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.