PS/2 Mouse and Boot CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Fatty Macbutter, Aug 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Hey all. My PS/2 mouse pointer freezes when I click the "Full" option on the Boot CD's selection screen.

    I've tried the "quiet acpi=off noapic" routine to no avail.

    But I've found this old post from Jbmoar regarding the problem:

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I Have Found A Workaround To Get Any User That Is Using True Image 8 With The latest Build 937 And Can Not Get Your PS/2 Standard Mouse To Work Using The Rescue CD....

    The Workaround I Found Is:

    Boot Using The Rescue CD - 8.0.937

    When see the Acronis Loader (1st Page) Press F11

    Remove The Quiet Word So Box Is Empty

    Now When the cursor stops detecting everything,

    Type The Word (Product)

    This Procedure Helps with a workaround to detect my mouse
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------


    I think I understand everything he's saying except, "Type The Word (Product)". So what exactly would I type in there?
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Looks to me like he's saying to type the word product in place of quiet.
     
  3. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks. I tried that - doesn't work. From what I've read here, most people had this problem with USB and wireless mice - but I use a plain ol' PS/2 mouse. Any more suggestions for a quick fix?
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  4. Pinchas

    Pinchas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Hey,

    Try the following workaround:

    Disable USB legacy support in BIOS settings.

    That shuda help -)
     
  5. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    I got into the BIOS, but I didn't find "USB Legacy Support". I did find "USB Mouse Support" which is disabled. Also "USB Keyboard Support" which is disabled. I looked through the whole BIOS menu. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place?
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Forgive my asking, but is the mouse plugged into a PS2 port or through an adaptor into a USB port? Or vice versa?

     
  7. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Ask away! Thanks. The connector at the end of the mouse wire is green, and it plugs into a round, green receptacle on the back of the PC. So I think it's a PS2 port. No adaptor is used.

    BTW, I tried entering usbmouse=off. It doesn't work either.
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Well, if you have a USB mouse, you could try that with the BIOS USB mouse support turned off and on.

    It's very unusual for a PS/2 mouse (which you have) not to be recognized by the TI Recovery CD. Do you have another mouse to try?
     
  9. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    I tried it with the USB mouse support on. No good. I tried it with USB mouse support on and entering usbmouse=off in the box. No good. I don't have another mouse. I don't know if that would make a difference? I suppose I can hobble around with the arrows and tab keys, but I don't know if I'll be able to access everything. I might get stuck.
     
  10. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    After rereading what I quoted from Jbmoar in my opening post, I think what he meant was to let command display run (by removing "quiet"), and once it finishes, type something at the cursor. The trouble is, I don't know what he meant by "Type The Word (Product)". Whew.
     
  11. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Bumping this for any last suggestions. I'm stumped... and does anyone know what Jbmoar is talking about?
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have never used TI 8 so I don't know exactly how it works.

    When you follow the instructions, remove quiet and then continue, do you see text lines scrolling on the screen as the program loads? (This is what TI 9 and 10 do.)

    Do you get a blinking text cursor when it stops?

    If so, then you could try typing exit or perhaps trueimage and pressing <ENTER>. Another option would be to press Ctrl-Alt-F1, Ctrl-Alt-F2, Ctrl-Alt-F3, etc. and see if any of them switch you to the Graphic TI window.
     
  13. Fatty Macbutter

    Fatty Macbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Yes to all, thanks -but mouse still frozen in the full version. Guess I'm SOL. Well, I could try another mouse. Maybe a USB mouse to use with "usbmouse=off"!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.