Protection Status Disabled after Restart

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Bizadi, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    I am writing for a friend who has SS v3.0.657 (just updated today). She has noticed that whenever she restarts the Protection Status is disabled. She can always re-enable it but we want to know why this is happening (just started about 2 weeks ago and SS is approx 2 months old). I'll probably call ESET tomorrow but I first wanted to see if we are missing anything obvious. Thanks. Her system is XP Home SP2.
     
  2. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    I didn't realize that phone support was only available for business customers. Any advice would be appreciated, please. Thanks!:)
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,785
    Location:
    Texas
    Is that what you were told by ESET?
     
  4. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Eset's support page tells me to submit a support request form (inconvenient b/c I can't get to my friend's house too often) or visit this forum. Live help is only for Premium Service contracts.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,785
    Location:
    Texas
  6. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    I'm checking out their support request page now. For Case Type the choices are:

    Purchase/Renewals
    Activate/Register
    Username/Password
    Download/Installation
    Remote Administrator/Exchange
    Threats/Error Messages
    Feedback

    None of these options seem to fit our case. I will call 'em later (thanks for the number).
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,785
    Location:
    Texas
    Try this.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    I wonder why that info. is not on their Support page -http://www.eset.com/support/index.php
     
  9. ingber

    ingber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    My Thinkpad/XP Pro SP3 just started exhibiting this problem as well with ESS 657. All boots and reboots under 657 absorb 100% CPU for the first 10 mins or so. I stopped this after a few minutes on the previous reboot by disabling and then re-enabling protection. It seems that doing so also changes the default startup options? That is, I noticed that "Automatic real-time file system protection startup" was unchecked (which I did not do), and I had to check it again.

    Lester
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2008
  10. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    We found that in my friend's Antivirus and Antispyware "module" (NOD32), under "Real-time file system protection", the "Enable" box was unticked. Same with "Automatic real-time file system protection startup" under "Advanced setup".

    We had been experiencing install problems with XP SP3 and had gone back to a restore point without installing SP3 but her system had slowed to a crawl. I had gone thru the EAV 3.0 Tutorial "extra settings" thread earlier and had changed most of the AV & AS settings. I thought that the slowness was b/c of the SP3 problems but my friend says that after she "turned off eset" her computer is better. Should I go back in and change the settings and ignore the EAV 3.0 Tutorial? Is there a similar tutorial thread for Smart Security?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.