promise controller suport

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by giuliano, Dec 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. giuliano

    giuliano Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,
    I'm going to buy a promise fasttrak s150 sx4 controller (hardware raid 5 on sata drives). Is there someone who can confirm or not if this controller is supported by trueimage 9 ?

    thanks

    giuliano
     
  2. Jumping

    Jumping Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    I have used the boot cd to restore a computer using fastrak raid controller succesfully, I'm not 100% sure if its the S150 but I think it was the controller.

    This was with Acronis Corporate Workstation 8 so I'm assuming that ver9 has the same if not more hard ware support.

    Best way would proably be to download the trial and test it out.
     
  3. giuliano

    giuliano Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Hi, I already have TI9 and hopefully the controller will be delivered on friday, so I think I'll have to wait until it's installed :)

    thanks

    giuliano
     
  4. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    It depends on how good is the TI software at creating a boot CD.

    Properly done, the boot CD should contain all the drivers used by your system, and the build process should allow you to hit a hotkey, usually F6, to load additional drivers.

    However, sometimes the built boot CD is not all that smart.
    For example, whenm I built the recovery CD using Retrospect 6.5, it does include all the needed drivers, but does NOT automatically find then all when using the CD.

    In one case, I have to merely re-insert the boot CD and it finds te driver that is already there. In another case, I have to insert the ATI drivers CD, tho I might be able to browse to th ecopy of the boot CD. Don't know wheteher more recent version of Retrospect have fixed this silliness. Hopefully, TI is smarter.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello giuliano,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that Acronis True Image 9.0 supports all levels of RAID arrays along with the wide variety of modern RAID controllers including Promise ones. I therefore do not expect any problems with Acronis True Image 9.0 recognizing Promise Fasttrak s150 sx4 RAID controller.

    However, if you encounter a problem with the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 recognizing Promise Fasttrak s150 sx4 RAID controller, please let me know. I'll certainly try to help you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Howard,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I'm afraid that Acronis Bootable Rescue Media Builder does not allow you to add some particular drivers to the Bootable Rescue CD during it's creation process.

    Please also note that Acronis True Image 9.0 Bootable Rescue CD is Linux based and has it's own assortment of drivers for the wide variety of modern hardware.

    If you enounter any problems with Acronis True Image 9.0 (2323) Bootable Rescue CD recognizing some particular hardware, please let me know. I'll certainly try to help you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  7. Huntermic

    Huntermic Guest

    Hello all,

    I have a pc with a promise ultra66 controller (old one indeed)
    But it isn' t recognised by the bootcd, how can i make it recognisable for the bootable cd?

    Greetz,
    Michiel de Jager
     
  8. Jumping

    Jumping Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Because the Acronis Boot cd is linux, I don't know if its possible to change drivers for it.

    Acronis provides an otption to start True Image from a BART PE cd which is a Windows Preinstall Environment. Bascially you run windows and programs from a cd into ram. Because you use Windows drivers its easy to get drivers for hardware. You old controller Windows XP most likely have builtin drivers for.

    Check this url for information on BART PE
    http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

    I'm not sure for what versions of True Image that you have the plugin for but I know I have it on the Enterprise Server and Corporate Workstain cd. Running the install I have an option to install the BART PE plugin.
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    As I stated before, one cannot BUILD a BartPE disk using Win 2000.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Huntermic,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that your bootable rescue media was created with the latest update of Acronis True Image 9.0 (2323) which is available in the Product Updates section at our web-site.

    We recommend you to try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround which you can find in Acronis Help Post.

    If the problem still persists, please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. Please also provide the information confirming your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.)

    We will do our best in order to resolve the problem under consideration as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  11. I've had problems with running Acronis TrueImage (the volume shadow copy imager; from in Windows), with the Promise S150 FX4 controller.

    Specifically, I have an NCCH-DL motherboard and I had enabled both its embedded S150 RAID controller and the embedded Adaptec IDE RAID controller (part of the 6300ESB).

    When I ran the Imager, the first drive on both arrays dropped out.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cautionwarranted,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please provide me with the more detailed information on the problem?

    - Please clarify whether this problem appears when Acronis True Image 9.0 is running from under Windows or when your PC is booted from Acronis True Image 9.0 Bootable Rescue CD;

    - What exactly do you mean when saying that "the first drive on both arrays dropped out"?

    - Have you received any error messages? What exact error messages? When exactly have you received them?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.