Project "UAC Tool"

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tsilo, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I have long been a fan of UAC but I must agree there are a couple of things that are a bit unnecessary annoying.
    1. Sometimes a software that has been cleared to install it still needs the UAC prompt when started the first time (after a reboot for example)
    Why cant the UAC appear only when the program has changed for example?
    2. Some software UAC prompts doesnt take over the screen, instead the UAC prompt is in the background so you have to open the UAC window from the task bar...



    Sounds like interesting concept since SuRun doesnt work well on my machine for some reason.
    Is this software only for Norton users?
     
  3. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    nop, everyone can use it... not only Norton users :)
     
  4. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Thanks. Quickest install I´ve ever encountered, didnt even have time to blink :)
    And they are planning for the future (64bit version too) :thumb:
    I have some software that I start frequently and it is actually nice to be able to tell UAC to remember my decision, much like in SuRun.
    Hopefully it will react if the executable changes.

    Now all we need is a tool that doesnt automatically give total admin rights to every single software install, ie just enough rights to get it installed, nothing more.

    Thanks tsilo!
     
  5. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    They already made it for x64.. I installed it on my Vista Ultimate x64
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Thx installed on the Vista64 gaming box also
     
  7. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Doesn't sound too intrusive?
     
  8. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Sounds like the community functions in other software, for example PrevX (at least it had something like that in the past).

    I don't see any issues in that myself.
     
  9. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Hmm, could I run it on my XP box as well? or is it exclusive for Vista alone? Just wondering if some XP user here have already tried it...

    /C.
     
  10. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I think this is for Vista only since XP doesnt have UAC. If I´d still use XP and wanted something like this I´d use SuRun in a limited account.
    The effects are somewhat similar to my knowledge.

    As lordpake states about all community based software does this already. Unless someone finds sensitive information (anything else than a IP that could identify the user) in the packets I see no problem.
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Hey thanks for this little tool,This helped with my CCleaner that prompts every time I go to use it which is often.:thumb:Also noted that when prompt it much smoother on the system another words seems less load on system and minus the dam donk sound if I choose not remember the prompt.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  12. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    O.k, I´m already using SuRun, I was just curious about this new tool.

    /C.
     
  13. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    Sweet ...thanks tsilo!
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Tsilo,

    Thx it works great until now on Vista64.

    Regards Kees
     
  15. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I agree with Kees, this works great...at least so far in Vista 32 bit. Nice.
     
  16. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    I've got TweakUAC installed and running in the quiet mode. Would I be more secure using the Norton UAC Tool? Since I don't totally understand how TweakUAC suppresses alerts, I'm wondering how these two tools compare.
     
  17. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    As far as I know

    UAC = limited user
    UAC in quiet mode = file and registry virtualisation only plus IE in protected mode, other limited user triggers are auto (quietely without prompt) elevated
    Norton's tool = limited user + remember for the executable triggering the action

    In this context
    UAC OFF = a bad choice
    UAC in quiet mode = better than UAC off, but auto elevation provides an open door, my second choice
    UAC tool = good balance between security and useability, my first choice
    UAC ON = best in theory, but in practise user are trained to auto allow everything reducing the security effect to (in my opinion) near zero.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  18. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    Thanks Kees, I think I'll give the Norton UAC Tool a try.
     
  19. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Seems we beta users are building up a whitelist for them. I hope it stays free after the final release. I can imagine a free version with no support and a paid version withe whitelist and whitelist updates.
     
  20. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I´ve been running it for more than two weeks now and no problems. Everything just works fine (on their forum some have found on glitch/bug or two though)
    I´d definitely would pay a moderate one time sum for this tool.
    It blows my mind that MS didnt include this kind of option in the first place. If they were afraid that novice users might misuse it (as if turning off UAC wouldnt fit into that category :D ) they could´ve hidden it in policies or something.
    UAC Tool is a perfect example of something I didnt know I wanted :)
     
  21. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    This is nice, Thanks for the find tsilo.
     
  22. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    So is this tool still working fine for you guys? Does it dial out to symantec to let them know what you allowed and blocked?

    dja2k
     
  23. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    When i had PCtools firewall a few days ago, yes it dialed out.
     
  24. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    Is there an updated version of this software in the past week?
     
  25. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    No. i guess there is no need? it seems to work as advertised and I guess Symantec is using this time to collect information on what people allow and not (which they clearly state so it can not be a surprise to anyone). But you can keep you self updated here
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.