Program Update

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by encus, May 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Hi Eset.

    I've noticed in one of the screenshots of ESS 6 Beta that there's an option to check from program update. Does this mean that user can upgrade from say ver 6.0 to ver 6.1 for example without downloading the whole setup file if there's a new version released?

    Thank you.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    version 5 also has this feature and I have upgraded from 5.0.93.0 to 5.0.95.0 and in the coming weeks you will be able to upgrade to 5.2.9.1 using with the feature as well.
    Im not sure how much is downloaded with this update system.
     
  3. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Thanks for your answer, btw I'm still currently using v4 right now ;)
     
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hello lodore!:D

    Like you I'm on 5.0.95.

    When the 5.2.9.1 comes out will you just go for it day 1 or wait for someone else to be on the bleeding edge?:doubt:

    I'm interested in your thinking on that. :thumb:
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I updated all my three machines to 5.2.9.1 on day one.

    All are running windows 7 64bit home premium.

    one dell laptop. one dell desktop and one custom machine.

    no issues so far
     
  6. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Can this program version update be done simultaneously with virus signature update or should I update it separately?
    Can it be updated automatically?

    Thanks.
     
  7. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Marcos mentioned in other post such update will be delivered as a PCU for v5 users.
    the .NUP package would be installed automatically after you confirmed the download
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  8. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Why is this version not available via the window where we check for latest version? Is it not ready for prime time? It loads with HIPS assumed to be wanted.
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    it takes time for that to be available. it took a few weeks before the last version was available via that option. I assume its so that more testing can be done before rolling it out to all Version 5 users.
     
  10. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Thanks! That is the best explantion I've had on anything lately!

    I'll wait now till their extra testing is done and the "check" version tells me that! :D
     
  11. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    So, if there's a new version, then ESS will notify the user. Is that right?

    Thanks.
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    I use Eset 32 V5 not ESS but I suspect it is the same.

    > click on icon in task bar
    > home
    > update
    > click on blue Check on line called available version .....

    when I do that I get 5.0.95.0
     
  13. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    I mean, will ESS give the pop up notification if newer version is available without having to check for the update manually?

    Thanks.
     
  14. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Sorry, can't help you. I've never been notified myself.

    I just follow the forum hear as it is the official user support site.:D
     
  15. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Thanks.
     
  16. tuntun

    tuntun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    How come this update check feature is not available for eset endpoint version? Even corporate environment, should have thsi for user to know but controlled by IT or like sophos, in case IT didnt updates, eset should check with ESET worlwide servers and suggest for upgrade .

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.