Program Component Updates

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by dwood, Jan 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    We are considering buying NOD to replace Sophos. The only problem I can find is that it requires a reboot after a program component upgrade has been installed, where as Sophos and Others can uninstall and reinstall with out a reboot.

    How do other users in a corporate environment find this?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Administrators can decide if and when to roll out a component update - there's a special option / button in Mirror which must be clicked to approve the roll-out. Also, you can set in the update setup not to reboot a machine so that a component update will take effect after the next reboot.
     
  3. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi dwood:

    Coming from a larger size network (2000+), PCUs do not come that often to worry about rebooting. The modules (Advanced Heuristics/Internet filter/Archive Support) are updated on the fly.

    Only when changing versions (i.e. 2.000.9 to 2.12.3) is a reboot required.

    As Marcos stated, you have the option of letting the PCU take affect after the next reboot (and when it gets distributed) with the administrative version.

     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  4. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Thanks for the positive response.

    Next question. After a program component upgrade does NOD stop functioning (Virus scanning) until a reboot, or does it continue virus scanning but the upgrade won't happen until it has been rebooted?
     
  5. swoop

    swoop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't want to invent trouble, but I've noticed following.

    During the time of NOD32 2.000.x, once after the updating program components, the virus database was not propagated into NOD32 modules. Meaning, Event Log was saying that program components and virus signatures (say v1.001) were updated, but AMON was saying that it uses database v1.000.

    It seemed that the whole "system" was waiting for reboot. It was on my home computer, thus i had no reason not to reboot. Afterwards, signatures were in place as they should have been. I'll try to reproduce this after PCU of version 2.13.0 will be released.

    Maybe it was already fixed, or just it was just glitch specific to my OS configuration(?). However, people @ ESET should check this. I remebreder this just after reading the previous post.

    SWooP
     
  6. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    The inability to update the core modules without a reboot has always been a bit of a trouble for me as well, from a corporate environment. Coordinating a reboot when many of your PCs run 24x7x365 is difficult sometimes. :p
    As to the updating question, when the PCU was updated from (I think) 2.000.3 to 2.000.9, the update loaded and NOD continued to function. However, the definitions would not update at all until the boxes were bounced.

    I still wouldn't use anything else, though. :D

    HTH,
    Jack
     
  7. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Thanks for the positive feedback! :)

    Its nice to know other people use it in a corporate environment and have the same niggles. :D
     
  8. swoop

    swoop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Jack, good to know that you observed the same thing. Now I'm more sure that it was not just my imagination... ;-)

    Cheers
     
  9. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Just to confirm I found that one of one web servers which is currently in testing, had received a program component update some time ago and was waiting for a reboot but was still virus scanning!.

    Thanks for all the replies anyway! :cool:

    Dan
     
  10. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Did you check to see what version of the definitions it was using? As I mentioned, I ran into the same issue. All of my machines were still scanning, but had older defs due to the "Waiting for restart" condition.

    Jack
     
  11. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    I think it was on 1.838 or something, so yeah it was waiting for a reboot. No a major problem for our clients as they generally reboot there PC each night.

    Dan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.