ProcessGuard v3.xxx Suggestions / Wishlist

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Jason_DiamondCS, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    I don't know if this has been brought up before, but I would like to see the PG database updated on this page here for a more and complete list of apps.

    Thanks ;)

    Regards,
    hardyhar
     
  2. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Definitely, I tried to check a lot of commonly used programmes but found nothing.

    Tried searching this thread but couldn't anything about password protecting Process Guard.
    Would this be feasible?
     
  3. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    I thought the Lock feature was password protected?
     
  4. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland

    Aha, lol.
    Thanks for that.
     
  5. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    That`s what we`re all here for. :)
     
  6. The possibility to have Process guard launch successfully under a different name. Basically being able to rename dcsuserprot.exe, procguard.exe, pgaccount.exe to anything we want. Would sorta help against attacks who try to kill process guard by name?
     
  7. pasito

    pasito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Ability to allow/deny system shutdowns/log-offs. :)
     
  8. pasito

    pasito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    .ini file modify protection.

    On a side note, does anyone know if WinXP Pro has WFP? I am using Win2kpro atm and will be switching to WinXP Pro when I build a brand new PC.
     
  9. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I have turned off all these in the registry: Balloon Tips, Folder Contents Info Tips, Explorer Pop-Ups, Show Info Tips, Start Menu and Notification Area. (I still get those horrible tool tips in the taskbar and quickstart bar). Anyhow, I get NO popup from PG when it goes red and stops a process from doing something. I desperately need a pop up. I would be happy to have a pop up in the middle of my screen or anywhere that isn't connected to those I listed that I disabled. I never notice the change in color of the icon because I use tiny icons and I keep the taskbar at 70% transparency. I don't need to see stuff on the taskbar...except the change of color in PG and I only need to see that because I get no other notification such as PG giving me the GUI showing what it has just blocked. Everything else on the taskbar I only need to see barely...just enough to know what it is if I click on it. (And I don't need tooltips because I know what each icon is for).

    That is what I want: the GUI to pop up on the Alerts tab in full screen so I can see what has happened. However, I will not enable any sort of stupid, cartoonish, irritating ballon tips in the task bar. I did read a post earlier in this thread from someone complaining that the popup is in the center of the screen? I have never seen that. That shouldn't be connected to what I turned off which is stupid, silly stuff Microsoft insisted on infecting XP Pro with....childish stuff. I don't see how I turned off a proper popup from PG but I have never had one. I get KIS2006 popups even though I have all the taskbar popups, tooltips, etc. turned off.

    I just wasted a lot of time trying to debug Power DVD which had repeatedly crashed right after opening. I never thought to look at the PG icon until much later. Plus, of course the taskbar was not on the DVD screen so there was no way, even if I remembered to look, to see that the PG icon had turned red! I tried over and over to run Power DVD and then finally turned it off and that was when I saw the taskbar again but I didn't notice the PG icon color. I ran Dr. Watson and then I was scratching my head trying to figure out what Windows debugger was telling me about Power DVD. When I FINALLY happened to notice the PG icon was red it all became clear. PG had stopped Power DVD from accessing physical memory.

    I simply cannot remember to look frequently at the icon. (Plus, in this case, there was no taskbar to look at). I never look at icons in the taskbar! (On my 98SE box I had the taskbar extremely narrow so I only saw a tiny sliver of each icon and I hate that I cannot make the fat taskbar in XP narrow and the icons very tiny. So I do the next best thing and make the taskbar highly transparent). I need PG to give me a full screen popup when it does something like that. A smaller popup in the middle of my screen that I can make full screen if I want (which I would always) would also be ok. I have been strugglingly to remember to look at the icon for months now. If I can't remember PG will not be worth having to me. I'll just run BoClean as Kevin just fixed that icon expressly for me. Don't get me wrong, I love PG but this is a big issue for me.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2005
  10. Shawn10111a

    Shawn10111a Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I would like to see the ability added to allow and deny “specific” global hooks on a global level and on an application basis. There are occasions when it is desirable to allow an application to use a specific global hook, but there is no fine-grained control.

    It would also be very helpful if alerts could be set only on specific policy violations. For example, there might be no need to be informed applications want to set a global mouse hook. However, you might want to be alerted if any application tries to capture keystrokes (I forget the global hook for that).

    Shawn
     
  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    yes winxp pro has windows file protection
     
  12. Timothy

    Timothy Guest

    I was just wondering if it would be possible to neither allow nor deny a process to start. Some programs may start 3 things at once, while you may wish to configure some stuff with the 1st program, processguard execution protection prevents you from seeing anything in the middle... Maybe make it possible to have a button where you allow the execution protection window to be movable/minmizable or add a new button on top of the allow/deny - suspend. So it would be possible to suspend to 2nd and 3rd program from running while you look at the first. Thx
     
  13. dea2

    dea2 Guest

    I'm a new PG user (full 3.15 version) and I have two suggestions:

    It seems to me that there should be a better way of handling rundll32.exe, cmd.exe, etc. I run several scheduled tasks (unattended batch files) and I cannot be there to allow the specific dll or batch file, yet I do not want to always allow everything these programs run. Perhaps there should be a special category for programs that run dll or scripts that allows permissions for the particular file thy run...

    Also, it would be nice if the program remembered its window size and state...
     
  14. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    dea, you can get PG's GUI window size to be "remembered" by first adjusting PG's GUI window to the way that you want it, then rightclick on th PG icon in the systray, and then click "exit" to close PG's GUI.. then PG's GUI window size will be remembered, after that..

    PG's protection is still running while the GUI is closed, incidentally..

    one thing that i am concerned about is PG's allowing processes to run without user authorization, probably during bootup.. i understand that, in some cases, that may be necessary, but maybe pg could be pre-programmed to allow some things while not allowing just anything to run at bootup.. obviously, the only thing that i am concerned about is some malware's running without authorization..

    PG has never allowed malware to run without "authorization" on my pc, but i have seen, in PG's "security", where some things were allowed to run without user authorization..
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2006
  15. rwn

    rwn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    kangaroo island
    will process G install on win xp 64.?
    If it does will it install the driver in the right place ?:-*
    if not will there be a 64 bit version of pg ?
     
  16. rwn

    rwn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    kangaroo island
    a bit more detail

    wish list ?

    does pg install on win xppro 64?
    either as a wow64 (program files x86)
    or a straight program files
    if the front end installs and the driver does not install is there a 64 bit driver ?

    yes I like the idea of fiddling with Win64 ( Everyday something fresh)

    if it does will the licence transfer to the xp64 from the win2k installation on the same computer or will I have to uninstall the 2k pro installation before reinstalling on the win64 version... I've already had a fiddle and the program reports no driver installation ?

    I haven't tried tds3 or but port explorer seems to be coping in program files X86
     
  17. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    PG currently does not work in windows pror x64
     
  18. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
  19. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i wish that instead of PG's automatically blocking things, it would pop up an alert, asking if you want to allow the action.. for example, if "services" wanted to install a driver, PG could pop up an "alert" asking if you want to allow "driver install"..
     
  20. bloodscourge

    bloodscourge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Don't know if this was already suggested but I would like a better way to detect obselete PG lists entries (deleted/uninstalled executables). We can see those obsolete entries with the defaut "system" icon but there is a bunch of applications that use it (with no icon resource for example...). The kind of feature I request can be seen in Look'n'Stop application filtering : a question mark icon for deleted applications. Ultimately, there could be a way to purge PG lists by user request (with prompt).

    Thanks in advance ;)
     
  21. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    there should be a way to manually add programs to the security list.
     
  22. Pete99

    Pete99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    U.S.
    For the new programs that I allow to always run, I would like PG to also add them to the Protection tab automatically.

    Is there a reason why PG doesn't currently do this? Why wouldn't I want all of the programs that I "Always Allow" to be protected from modification and termination?

    From most to least favored solutions:

    1) combine the two tabs into one and only have one set of program names/folders. I would like to see all attributes of each program in one view. It seems that this might be possible if you didn't use such verbose descriptions in the right columns (e.g. "Install Global Hooks"). And you would only have to add two columns to the Protection tab ("Last Action" and "Last Run").

    Or, if you keep both tabs, at least only use one set of program names/folders. This seems possible because if there are programs in the Security tab for which you don't want any protection, then the program can still be added to the Protection tab but with none of its checkboxes selected.

    2) or automatically add every new "always allow" program to both tabs

    3) or an additional checkbox on the prompt (e.g. "Protect this program") that's already selected by default (or remember the last user choice)

    4) or a button in the GUI that allows us to add all missing programs from the Security tab to the Protection tab

    5) or a comparison report that we can view in a non-modal window or in a text file

    I run many programs on my computer, many of which I will only start after the initial Learning mode is done. After using PG for a few days, I now realize that there are already many programs missing in the Protected tab. I expect that it will be a huge hassle to switch between the two tabs over and over again to manually try to sync everything, not just today but in the future too.

    In the future I suppose that I'll have to train myself to remember to open the PG GUI and manually add each new program that I run to the Protected tab each time. That doesn't sound like much fun to me.
     
  23. some made up name

    some made up name Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    At the moment there is a 250 (?) application limit to the protection tab, but i don't know of any for the security tab ... Soo, if the protection tab is full, then no more apps would be allowed to run if PG were to automatically add to both lists (under the current implementation).

    Combining both lists sounds like a great idea, it may even help PG deal with the protection list in a more unlimited manner ;).
     
  24. Pete99

    Pete99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    U.S.
    I've discovered that I can select all the filenames in the security tab (by pressing Home then Shift-End) then right-clicking on one and choosing "Add to protection list". PG then adds any missing filenames to the protection tab. I'm very happy to know that PG can do this, but I'll have to do it manually about once per week so I'd still prefer that it be completely automatic.

    After doing the above procedure, I now have more filenames in the protection tab than in the security tab (153 vs 134). I'm concerned about the upper limit that you mentioned that might only be 250 filenames. Since I haven't even been using PG for a week, I expect that the number of filenames will continue to grow. I wonder if PG would warn me if I reach the limit.
     
  25. some made up name

    some made up name Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    If you are using one of the newer betas (don't know when they introduced it) it should tell you that the limit has been reached.

    Also, the number of new applications tends to drop over time, so atm you should still be alright ;). If you do hit the limit, look through the list to make sure that they are still existant (ie. not 'dead' entries) and revise if they really need protection. think about it ... not all programs need to be protected :D (has to be some extreme case for all programs to need protection).