ProcessGuard not closing all the way?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by gracie123, Jan 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    When I choose to exit ProcessGuard, it still prompts me for different things because the processes of it stay in Windows Task Manager. How can I stop this from happening?

    Thanks,

    Gracie
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    That's the function of PG, it's an application firewall, if you terminate PG you won't be protected. Why are you trying/wanting to terminate PG?
     
  3. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Updates for different software, and I am thinking when I have to defrag my computer how annoying it will be having it alert me about different things. I imagine it will then too? o_O
     
  4. dog

    dog Guest

    The only regular updates (aka monthly) that I can think of that "may" require PG's extra protections to be disabled, would be Microsoft Updates. In that case, you can just disable the protection temporarily while you're performing the update, then re-enable it. This is done through the GUI on the main tab - Disable Protection. Most software updates won't need any more permission than to run ... which you would allow as needed. Defrag'ing and general definition updates don't need any special permission other than to run either. When you first install PG leave it in learning mode, and run all of your needed software ... it will set all the permissions for all your daily software then, once you've run everything, and rebooted once or twice, take PG out of learning mode and you'll be fine. Do continue to read the threads here though, PG is rather a complex and advanced tool - it will take time to learn. ;) But you'll do fine. ;) :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2006
  5. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hello :),

    Thank you for helping me.

    I will remember what you told me, thats very helpful!

    Thank you so much dog :)

    ~Gracie
     
  6. dog

    dog Guest

    No Problem. If you start that way (learning mode) things will be a little easier, and then when issues popup, we'll be here to help. Often the best way to learn is through trial an error, I find it easier to learn in this manner anyway. Sometimes it hard to comprehend what's being said without the first hand experience.

    Once you have the basic setup for PG, the best way to learn from there might be to configure an application manually, setting the allow to execute permission, protecting the executable, setting the extra permissions if necessary (Global Hooks etc.) ... most times these extra permissions aren't needed, and the application will function correctly without them - Just proceed slowly only allowing these extra permissions if the program doesn't function properly. Doing this will give you a good feel for the program. There is a small database available at DCS site, which you can also refer to, plus there really is a ton of info in the threads here. Take your time and you'll do fine ... PG is an excellent and powerful program, but the key to it is the users decisions.
     
  7. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hi,

    So basically do I just check everything on the main menu except Learning mode and then start all my programs and click remember this setting for the ones that make sense then restart computer then I am done or?

    Thanks,

    Gracie
     
  8. dog

    dog Guest

    No; you'll have to run PG in learning mode first, so it can learn all the functions your normal apps need.

    So ... install PG, I believe it starts first in learning mode by default (the icon in the system tray should be green - which indicates it's in learning mode). Then start each application you use one by one, starting the program and running an additional functions they may have, then close it and move on to the next program. Reboot you're computer and let your system run for 'say' a day in learning mode, then any background functions and/or scheduled tasks will also be learned as well as any program/functions you may have missed. Once you get PG to this point, reboot again and take it out of learning mode by unchecking that box on the main tab of the GUI and also make sure all the extra protections are checked/enabled. If anything doesn't run or operate correctly from this point on, you can check PG's log to determine what the cause is ... asking here if you're unsure. :)
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    I would strongly recommend disabling PG when ever you either defrag, backup or image. Otherwise the dat files in the system area won't be included. On defraging a minor problem, but on backups and images not good.

    Pete
     
  10. dog

    dog Guest

    I've never seen this problem. :doubt: How exactly do you figure this?
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Dog

    Based on experience. Perfect DIsk Defragger won't move them if you don't disable PG. First Defense will give errors on these two files when you copy snapshots if PG isn't disabled. Dantz Retrospect Versions 6 and 7 will also give errors on these files, and not back them up if you don't disable PG. I suspect disk imaging programs probably are okay.

    Pete
     
  12. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hello Pete,

    I will remember that... but what do you mean by image? I have a program called Snagit that I use with Adobe Photoshop to work on my pictures and so forth. Is this what you mean or?

    Also, what exactly do I need to do to not be in a "danger zone" other than turning PG off when doing defrag and backup.

    Thanks,

    Gracie
     
  13. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i don't know if it has already been mentioned in this thread, but when you "exit" PG, it only closes PG's "GUI" (graphical user interface), it does not "close" pg's protection..

    you can temporarily disable PG's protection in PG's settings, in the GUI, just uncheck "protection enabled"..

    i do disable PG's protection when defragging.. it is not really necessary, but it will allow PG's "dat" file to be "defragged".. otherwise, it will not be defragged, which isn't reallly a major issue..

    i usually try to disable all my protection (PG, RegDefend, EZ AV, TrojanHunter, Ewido :) ) when installing various programs or "windows updates", but not always..

    if you are uninstalling PG, i would disable PG's protection (in PG's settings, in the GUI), "exit" the GUI (from the PG icon in the systray), use "task manager" to close PG's running processes, and then run the uninstall (from "add/remove")..

    there are three PG processes that are normally running (in "task manager"), "pgaccount.exe", "procguard.exe", and "DCSUserProt.exe"..

    you do not need to "close" PG when defragging or installing programs or windows updates, just temporarily "disable" PG's protection by unchecking "protection enabled" in PG's GUI..
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2006
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Gracie

    No. A disk image used to recover if your hard drive fails. Programs such as Ghost, Acronis True Image, and Image for windows. Unlike regular backups which just save files, images, assuming they work properly can restore your machine to its current configuration with a brand new disk.

    Pete

    PS Take a look in the Acronis forum, and also there are a bunch of threads, in the Software and services section
     
  15. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    OK thank you, I understand now :).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.