processguard and diskeeper 9

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by mobwoof, Dec 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mobwoof

    mobwoof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    I´m having problems with diskeper in that i cant terminate dkservice,dgfat or dgnfst despite the fact that i have no protection on either of those? Any ideas of what i am doing wrong?

    Regards

    Mobwoof
     
  2. tonyjl

    tonyjl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    Why do you want to terminate those o_O ,there only defragging your HD,or are they playing up. You should be carefull with them coz if terminated,it can leave you're HD in a bit of mess :'(
     
  3. mobwoof

    mobwoof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Really? I didn´t know that...

    The reason i want to be able to terminate those is when i am playing games so they dont defrag during the time i´m playing.

    /Mobwoof
     
  4. tonyjl

    tonyjl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    If you really want to stop it,open notepad and type[ NET STOP "service name here" ],type the service name as displayed in the services tool,leaving a space between each line.

    e.g

    NET STOP "Diskeeper"

    NET STOP "DNS Client"

    NET STOP "Event Log"

    NET STOP "Print Spooler"

    Then name the file 'NetStop.bat'. Whenever you play any games,or other resource intensive prog,just double-click 'NetStop.bat' and it will go through the list stopping the services.

    Happy gaming :D
     
  5. mobwoof

    mobwoof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Heh that did it :D

    Thanks for all your help :D

    Mobwoof
     
  6. tonyjl

    tonyjl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    No probs mate :D :cool:
     
  7. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Might pay to add this one :)

    NET STOP "Task Scheduler"

    And create another BAT file with them all saying START, so you don't have to reboot. Might need a pause if any depend on each other, see how it goes.
     
  8. tonyjl

    tonyjl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    Thanks Gavin,i forgot to mention the net start. A word of warning though,i have found that not all services will start with the NET START cmd :( ,so do check just to make sure.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.