processes

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Aug 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    can i untick any of these in start up? WkuFind etc thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Expand it and show the command line
     
  3. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    ok how do i do that o_O
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Place your mouse pointer on the line between Command and Location.

    When the crosshairs come up left click to lock and slide to the right.
     
  5. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    You can check the items on this website if you see an N or X you may uncheck them. Here is the website: http://castlecops.com/StartupList.html
    Take also a look at these locations:
    start,all programs,start up
    start,run,type regedit press enter expand hkey_local_machine and the following folders and subfolders: software,microsoft,windows,currentversion,run at you right side you will find also start up items. You have to delete them if you don't want that they start together with windows. Enter them also on the website.
     
  6. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    There may be a driver or service that needs to load on ones particular box.

    You can un-check boxes in groups of two, re-start and see if all is well. Use the list as a "guide only".

    ...screamer
     
  7. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    you can disable nwiz.exe- heres the description:

    nwiz.exe is a part of NVidia's Nview features installable alongside it's graphics hardware products. This application will give the user access to additional features which allow the configuration of up to 32 monitors on a host, or to expand the desktop across many monitors. This is a non-essential process. Disabling or enabling it is down to user preference


    you might want to try a program called ace utilities, it has a great startup manager, and a right click on any service gives the option to search google for it and find out what it does and if its needed or not

    here's a screenshot:

    http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n294/nachtvarg/Forum_Bilder/Wilders%20Security%20Forums/ace_utils.jpg
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    In addition to nwiz, I usually disable nvcpl and nvmctray too.

    You can disable msnmsgr depending on how much you use it. I would just disable it and manually start Messenger when I plan on IMing.
     
  9. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    Another helpful program is "The Ultimate Troubleshooter" (TUT) http://www.answersthatwork.com/. It gives advice on Startups, Services, and running Tasks, as well as other information. Evaluation download is available.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.