Process time for partial same as full

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by art k, Nov 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    True Image V7.0638. I do a partial backup on shutdown. Seems to me that it takes about the same amout of time (abour 15 min) as a full backup. Seems like it should be a lot faster. Anyone know why?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello art k,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/products/trueimage/).

    Could you please let me know if you defragmented your drive after creating the full image and before creating the incremental one?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello art k

    When you say "partial" backup do you in fact mean that you created a TI "incremental" image? If so, then it depends on how much your disk structure has changed since the last time an image was created (e.g. you did a disk defrag). TI carries out sector based imaging rather than file based imaging.

    Regards
     
  4. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    Sorry, I meant incremental. And I didn't defrag.
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    What's the size of your full image compared to that of the incremental?
     
  6. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    About 4gig for full. The next day the incremental was about 600k.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    How does the time (and size) compare if you manually carry out an Incremental within your current Windows session rather than scheduling it to occur at shutdown?

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.