Problems ...

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Longboard, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Not interested in any FUD, but, I'm having some interesting issues with current release of ISR Build 302 on W7.

    Not feeling really secure about this app ATM.

    Am in contact with support ...
    Will provide updates.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Just curious what the issues are.
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    First, forgive my ignorance, what is FUD? Like Peter, would be interested in your issues. I am using IR on mine and wife's machine, both Win7, everything working perfectly.
    Acadia
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,270
    Location:
    England
    Arcadia,

    FUD stands for Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt.
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ok: some issues so far

    Running as Admin:

    So; first copy/update on spouses new w7 box: >1000 errors. !!
    May have been associated with NIS auto update, but shouldnt the ISR run properly despite that. ?

    Redo: looks OK: boot to copy snapshot: Icons gone from task bar, IE and FF icons "mixed up" : "unpin IE from task bar": FF icon disappears, check again and then reverse happens ??
    Redo copy: reboot: seems ok.

    Do copy update: Redo copy update immediately : > 3Gb data replaced each time with absolutely no change to primary....??
    Copy update takes > 15 minutes.

    Another box has recurrent error with "unable to decrypt Hosts file" ; No entries in host file, not encrypted.

    Every copy update seems to copy/replace every MS Office 2013 file when no change has been made.

    Am working with support, but taking some time as I have been to busy so far to run debug programs from Raxco
    ( posting from another office atm )

    As I said some issues ...
    Really want this to work.
    W&W.
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    So ...
    Support provided a new copy engine: all good.

    There still seems to be some issue with copy/updating 'unchanged' MS Office files.

    Will continue as is protem.
    Some lingering doubts.

    Laissez les bons temps rouler :)
     
  7. suliman

    suliman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    53
    I have somewhat the same kind of problem, if I even get to the desktop in the new snapshot, the icons are gone and I cant do much in windows.

    I say like Monty Python: "Youuu lucky ~snipped~" I would be happy if I only had 1000 errors when I make a snapshot, I have over 300 000 errors :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 1, 2014
  8. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    OK
    Update: new '306' seems to be working well.
    Less massive copy/replaces per update. Faster. Less errors: Mostly None, still watching..

    Bit more confident now.

    While response time from Raxco is good excellent, process is more clumsy than necessary.
    Forums very quite as a result: crowdsourcing has its place.

    As per Peter :
    I did but technical expertise lacking to interpret relationship to problem :(

    And on we go ..