Problems with Transcend external USB 2.0 drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jplumey, Apr 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jplumey

    jplumey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I evaluated TI with an external USB hard drive and it worked great. Based on that, I bought it last night but immediately started to get errors when creating images onto a USB 2.0 Transcend StoreJet external hard drive. When I attempt to run the image, the system asks me to "insert first media". I hit OK, it starts backing up and then when it hits around 4GB, it asks for another media. The drive contains 78 GB of free space, and Windows detects it as a hard drive. I tried to uninstall but that did not fix the problem.

    I have contacted support. Any ideas?

    Javier Plumey
     
  2. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    Sounds like TI is seeing the external drive as an DVD-write (with a 4 GB limit)?

    I think there was a post recently where the TI Rescue Disc believed an external drive was a diskette drive ( A: ).

    Coincidence?
     
  3. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Most likely your external drive is formatted FAT32. You are hitting the file size limit for FAT32.
     
  4. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    4GB is the file size limit for FAT32, but ATI would automatically begin writing to the next file once 4GB has been reached. It would not prompt the user to switch disks.

    Does this StoreJet device use the standard USB mass storage drivers, or something proprietary?
     
  5. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Why does it show "There is not enough space on the disk" when I try to copy a 4GB file to StoreJet?(TS0/40/80GSJ25,TS20/40GSJ1:cool:



    The error is because of the 4GB file size restriction for FAT32 file systems.To solve this problem,you may follow the steps to convert the partition from FAT32 to NTFS.

    Backup all data in your StoreJet
    Run SJ-init.exe which is located in driver CD
    Choose ExBoot and select OK
    Use "Disk Manager" to convert the partition from FAT32 to NTFS.

    Even though Wdormann is correct in theory, I suggest formating to NTFS and try again. These drives are oddballs.

    As always YMMV.
     
  6. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    My USB drive is FAT32 (for compatibility) and when I have backed up to it, ATI does indeed split the files as required for FAT32 and automatically begin writing to a new file until the backup is complete.

    Since there might be some kind of quirk with the StoreJet, then converting to NTFS might very well be a viable workaround.
     
  7. Euser

    Euser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    32
    Have you tried this using the boot cd and writing the image from there or was this done while working in windows?
     
  8. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Yes, you are right. That's the way it works for me too. But, Toshiba (it's a Toshiba inside) has it's own way of doing things with these 1.8 drives. So I think NTFS should be a good workaround.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Javier,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Could you please create Acronis Report with the external drive plugged in (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 for details) and send it to support@acronis.com? Also please create a screenshot of the window where you choose the place to store the image to and send this screenshot to us as well.

    This will allow us to investigate the problem. If you do not get any response from Acronis Support Team within 48 hours please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  10. jplumey

    jplumey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I have sent an email to support with the report file and the requested screen shots. At this time I am unable to do automated backups so I absolutely need this to work.

    Thanks.
     
  11. jplumey

    jplumey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I have not heard back from you since I sent the report back. Please contact me ASAP.

    The Acronis incident is #222958
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jplumey,

    We didn't get the new report from you. Please send it again. Konstantin sent the reply to you.

    ****************************************************************
    Dear Javier,

    Thank you for using Acronis software. (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/)!

    Please plug-in your external hard drive, create a new report file and send it to us.



    Thank you.
    --
    Sincerely yours,
    Konstantin Karikov
    ****************************************************************

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  13. jplumey

    jplumey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I have sent the report and installed the latest build. I contacted support yesterday and have not had a response yet.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.