Problems with SpywareGuard

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by perhaps, Aug 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    I cannot run SpywareGuard but get the message:
    Run-time error '5' : Invalid procedure call or argument.
    I use WindowsXP home.

    My Browser Hijack Blaster came with a warning and asked me if I want to change startpage. I said no. Just a little after my SpywareGuard came with the same warning and I refused once again. An hour later when I tried to open SpywareGuard I did not succeed but got the above mentioned run-time error '5'. What can I do? I want my SpywareGuard back. I have tried to uinstall and download and install again, but with the same result (run-time error '5'). o_O
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi perhaps,

    Using SpywareGuard and BrowserHijackBlaster alongside is not advised.
    SpywareGuard's Browser Hijack protection is more advanced then BHB's.

    Quote from Javacool:

    "Indeed - using both BHB and SpywareGuard + its Browser Hijacking Protection can cause problems.

    That's why I highly recommend using the more advanced SG Browser Hijacking Protection and removing BHB.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool"


    HTH,

    Pieter
     
  3. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Pieter

    Thanks for your prompt reply. :)
    I will uninstall BHB.

    regards
    perhaps
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You're welcome. :)

    Keep us posted,

    Pieter
     
  5. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Hi!
    I still have the same problem. I have uninstalled BHB and Spywareguard and reinstalled SpywareGuard, but I still get this runtime-error. I have Norman virusprotector and firewall. Could it be the problem? :'(
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi perhaps,

    Never heard of any conflicts with those.
    What version of Windows are you running?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    WindowsXP home
     
  8. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    In that case you should certainly have all the required files.
    Have you tried downloading a fresh copy?
    Maybe the one you have was corrupted.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  9. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks Pieter. I'll try to download once again and return here to this forum with an answer.
     
  10. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Same result after uninstall and download and re-install SpywareGuard.

    When I uninstall I cannot get rid of 3 files: dllprotect.dll 1.2.0.0 and sgmain and spywareguard.dll 2.1.0.0.

    Could this perhaps has anything to do with my problem?
    o_O
     
  11. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    After reinstalling, could you please try deleting the "config.ini" file in your SpywareGuard directory? (If it is present.)

    TIA. :)

    -Javacool
     
  12. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    The following would help me greatly:

    In your SpywareGuard folder (usually C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard) there may be a file named "sglog.txt" or just "sglog". If it is present, could you please open it, and copy and paste the contents to post here? If it isn't present, could you please let me know? TIA. :)

    EDIT: Also, when does this error occur? Is it as soon as you try to run SpywareGuard? Is it only when you try to double-click on the tray icon to open the interface? Thanks!

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  13. perhaps

    perhaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Hi javacool,

    I have no config.ini file, but a normal config-file. I have now deleted it. Furthermore I have no files named sglog.txt or sglog.


    The error happens when I open SG from my shortcut on the desktop, but when the browser hijack protection is disabled the error does not happen so often as if it is enabled.

    Best regards

    perhaps
     
  14. srfox

    srfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I had a similar problem with spyware guard, only in my case the tray icon was not showing. So I had no way to see what was going on with it. Trying to reinstall didn't do any good. This happened right after I installed moleculesoft index dat cleaner, so what I did was to restore XP back to a time before that install. Then I tried to reinstall spyware guard using my orginal update file. That didn't work so I downloaded a new copy. I removed spyware guard then reinstalled with the newly downloaded file. Well that seemed to do the trick, which made me very relieved as I couldn't figure out what was going on.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.