Problems with Panda Cloud URL Filter?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Antimalware18, Jan 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Hello

    I switched from Bitdefender Free back to Panda Cloud because I couldnt stand that BDAV didnt ask you what to do with a infected file, the auto delte/quarantine is really to nerve racking for me, great product though.

    So I re-installed Panda cloud free (I had before) and I don't know if this problem is only present for me (I know its not acctualy) but the URL filter Does NOT work. It shows Panda_URL_Filtering.exe*32 as running in task manager, but when I visit the Panda Url filter test site or Eicar, the url filter does not block the webpages, this is really quite a annoying problem and I have already reported the issue on the PCAV forums where another person is having the same issue.

    see here:http://www.cloudantivirus.com/forum/thread.jspa?threadID=65304&tstart=0

    I really wanted to know if anyone else has had/is having this problem. what they did to bypass/fix it. and if anyone would perhaps know if the panda team has any plans on investigating this issue.
     
  2. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    K9 Web Protection does the better job. Try it instead of Panda.
     
  3. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    I tried K9 awhile ago on one of my family members computers, and while it worked and I liked it. Its not really my cup of tea. Panda's url filtering is amazingly strong...when it works. I really hope they can replicate this issue and fix it. I will post any system info/screenshots they want.

    EDIT* Tested on several Links on Malc0de.com I checked the VT reports and everyone was detected by panda, And the URL filter worked, restarted the computer and tried the same links. The URL filter did NOT work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
  4. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Another EDIT* although I did this one in a different reply

    Just re-tested links that were caught my url filter, then werent after a restart. They WERE caught this time, 30 min after a restart...I still consider this broken because the URL filter needs to work after the computer is done booting up.

    thanks
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Have you considered visicom,s malware domain advisor?
     
  6. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Hello

    Thanks Beethoven, I just looked visicoms program up and from the pictures they show it looks like the original form on Panda URL Filter. because it says "Powered by panda" do you believe that this would be more...reliable?
     
  7. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    I too have found Panda's URL filter to be.. Sporadic..

    No idea why.. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't, and it really pisses me off that a security product would magically stop working for hours at a time! I found no solution for this... Sadly.
     
  8. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    atleast im not the only one! I am hoping that somelike Pbust could comment on this? maybe see if there is a fix in the pipeline, I know that Panda Cloud has amazing detection rates but lacking a web filter for hours at a time this is a gamble and a hole in a security setup...
     
  9. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Alright, after multiple restarts and alot of waiting...the filter does come on, but only after 10-20 minutes if not longer. This is still not ideal and would like to hear from someone higher up the chain on the panda forums/here if they are investigating this...lag and about a possible fix.
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    :thumb: Yeah it does.
     
  11. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Same program. Visicom is using Panda's antiphishing database.
     
  12. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Yes, but you avoid installing full AV and then uninstalling components you don't need.
    ;)
     
  13. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    I've given up on Panda's URL scanner, it is far too unstable and sporadic to be useful.

    Instead I have switched to MalwareBytes(hpHOSTS) along with Bullguard(Commtouch) which should be pretty amazing when combined.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.