Problems with Internet Browsing

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Glenn9999, Sep 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Glenn9999

    Glenn9999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    In the last few days, I have experienced problems wth accessing web pages on the first or second attempt. To my knowledge, there have been no operating system changes (XP HE with SP2) or software updates to the browsers or ESET firewall.

    With IE7, I get a "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" error.

    With Firefox 3, I get an "Address Not Found" error.

    When I refresh (or press 'Try Again' for FF3) the page will often load, but sometimes I have to refresh 2 or 3 times before it works.

    I have tried deleting both browsers in the ESET firewall rules, and then re-adding them (as suggested on the Mozilla site), but this has made no difference.

    There doesn't appear to be a problem with my internet connection (e.g. I can stream an audio file with no problems).

    Grateful for any advice - many thanks.
     
  2. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    While there may be a hi-tech answer to this I have experienced the same and generally (1) press the modem reset button...Un-plug the modem's power cord (10 sec), (2) Clear my Cookies-Cache, and (3) Re-boot.

    I have found (or read of here) nothing connecting ESET to these errors, usually blame DNS servers, and those steps above generally work. Additionally, if I unplug the DSL modem cord and plug-in the internal fax modem cord temporarily - and forget to swap back to DSL - I get the same messages.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2008
  3. SEXTANTBTS

    SEXTANTBTS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Glenn,
    We are experiencing similar behavior in our office. We are on a Windows 2003 server (which provides DHSP & DNS) and Windows XP Pro on the workstations.
    We also can access websites in both IE and FireFox after repeated attempts. However, if I disable the Personal Firewall module of NOD32 we have immediate access. Also, those systems that do not have NOD32 installed are NOT experiencing this behavior, so I doubt that it is a hardware issue.
    I have checked the Rules tab of the Zone and Rules Setup page and IE is set to Allow for all options.

    Does anyone have any suggestions.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.