Problems with ESS with an interactive mode of a firewall

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by gadinaiu, Feb 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gadinaiu

    gadinaiu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Excuse for my English!
    I from Russia.
    ESS after installation works about one week and thus the firewall works in an interactive mode, but then suddenly ceases to give access to the Internet for applications, but thus in any way on it does not inform!
    If to establish a firewall in an automatic mode then applications leave in the Internet, but I cannot supervise their exit in the Internet!
     
  2. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    did you install letest SP3RC1?
     
  3. gadinaiu

    gadinaiu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    No. At me XP SP2. Tried to reinstall ESS - helps only temporarily. Version ESS 3.0.621
     
  4. wormog

    wormog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I have the same problem in the oppsite direction. After some time interactive mode lets any trafic/progam through. It doesnt matter if I remove the program from my rules. Everything can connect to the internet. Don´t feel very safe right now.

     
  5. gadinaiu

    gadinaiu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    At me on the contrary! In an interactive mode passes nothing in an Internet, and in automatic please, and in an automatic mode it of nothing спращивает at the new established applications which ask an exit in the Internet - simply lets out them and all! And in an interactive mode connections any the Internet easier are not passed. Already tired to struggle with it...:(
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd suggest enabling logging of all blocked connections in the IDS setup section to see what is actually being blocked.
     
  7. gadinaiu

    gadinaiu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks! I will try.
     
  8. kringles

    kringles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Posts:
    52
    See this thread, it may be the same or similar problem;

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=196118

    There were cases where a 'new rule' was added that allowed all outgoing traffic or in some cases a 'new rule' that denied all outgoing traffic in interactive mode.

    regards
     
  9. gadinaiu

    gadinaiu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    kringles
    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  10. techcafe

    techcafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    why would you even make such an unhelpful suggestion?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.