Problems with DOS/W2K/XP/Vista Bootloader

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Bubka, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    for some time Ive used the Acronis Boot Loader to select my DOS or W2K OS from the first HDU.

    Now Ive installed a second HDU to install XP and Vista.

    But after installing only the Vista could be started, the other OSs could not be started from the BL.

    Meanwhile I lost my orientation how to install this configuration. Could anybody explain to me how it must be installed? It would be no problem for me to reinstall all OS...

    Thanks for any hints,

    Wolfram
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What version and build of DD/OSS are you using?

    Do you get an error message when you try to boot into any OS besides Vista?

    Is the Vista OS entry in OSS using the Disk Swapping feature?
     
  3. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    Im using DD V10.0 and actual and patched BL 8.0
    After installing the service pack 1 of Vista I get the message:

    Windows 2000 could not be startet because of missing the file:

    <Windows 2000 root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe

    Similiar messages if I try to start XP...


    "Is the Vista OS entry in OSS using the Disk Swapping feature?"
    Im thinking not, because it is my first contact with vista :rolleyes:

    Thanks,

    Wolfram
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    So you are not using OS Selector 10 (2,160) that comes with DD 10?

    If you're using an older product (BL 8.0 ?), then I probably won't be able to help you as I haven't ever used it.

    Is the drive on which you installed Vista setup in the computer BIOS as the booting drive or is the DOS/W2K drive still the booting drive?
     
  5. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Arrggh..sorry!

    Its OS Selector 10 (2.161), not 8...

    No, the Vista drive is on the second HDU. DOS could be booted, but the other once not (exept the last installed Vista).

    Thanks,

    Wolfram
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Can you post your BOOTWIZ.OSS file (instructions can be found here)? It may help to see it.

    Also, a screenshot of what Vista's Disk Management shows would be helpful.
     
  7. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hmm,

    there are two copies of Bootwiz-folders:

    First at the Vista-HDU, second on the old W2k HDU, but none of them could be accessed by me?! (Yes, Ive admin rights followed the -very good- instrucions.

    Here ist the Vista Screen:

    Vista-HDU.jpg

    Thanks,

    Wolfram
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That screenshot is of My Computer. I need one of Disk Management.

    Click the Start button >> Right-click Computer >> Click Manage from pop-up menu >> Click Continue on UAC pop-up >> Click Disk Management in tree on left side of Window.
     
  9. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Good Morning,

    hope this is needed...

    Vista-HDU2.jpg

    Thanks,

    Wolfram
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That's the correct screenshot. Thanks.

    Is the D: partition your XP partition? If so, it looks like Vista may be booting from it. Can you post the output of bcdedit when run from a Command Prompt started in Administrator Mode?

    Win2K is now on Disk 2. The booting problem with it could just be because the boot.ini settings are pointing to the wrong disk.
     
  11. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    HI,

    yes, D: is the XP partition. But Ive problems to access the bcdedit even though Im logged in as administrator?!

    What to do...?!

    Thanks, Wolfram
     
  12. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    1. Type "command" in the start menu search box
    2. Right-click on "Command Prompt"
    3. Choose "Run as administrator"
    4. Click on "Continue" when prompted by UAC

    You will then be able to run bcdedit with administrative credentials.

    In Vista your account always runs with standard user credentials, even if you are a member of the Administrator group. To run a command with administrative privileges you need to explicitly start the Command Prompt as above.
     
  13. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    thanks for the hints, but its not possible to start the command.com as administrator, because its not in the selection list?

    If I selct bcdedit as admin it will start, opens a window for a very short time and will be closed after finishing...

    Hm, what are Im doing wrong...?

    Thanks,

    Wolfram
     
  14. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    You do not want to start "command.com" but rather the "command prompt". Perhaps the name is different if you are using a different language?

    Try typing "cmd" in the search box and selecting "cmd.exe". Right-click on "cmd.exe" and choose "Run as administrator".
     
  15. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Ahhh, that works!

    Here is the output form the bcdedit:



    Windows-Start-Manager
    ---------------------
    Bezeichner {bootmgr}
    device partition=D:
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale de-DE
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {current}
    displayorder {current}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    timeout 0

    Windows-Startladeprogramm
    -------------------------
    Bezeichner {current}
    device partition=C:
    path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description Microsoft Windows Vista
    locale de-DE
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \Windows
    resumeobject {26f6a6d5-7a0e-11dd-b87f-e36d0861222d}
    nx OptIn


    Thanks,

    Wolfram
     

    Attached Files:

  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It appears that the XP/Vista drive is the BIOS booting hard drive. Vista is also booting from the XP partition which means that the XP partition wasn't hidden and the Vista partition wasn't Active when you installed Vista. XP and Vista would need to be separated or you'd need to reinstall them correctly.

    I think the W2K partition should boot okay if you use the Disk Order feature of OSS and set the W2K drive first in the order list. If you do this, you shouldn't have to modify the boot.ini file.

    The BOOTWIZ.OSS file is most likely in the W2K partition's BOOTWIZ folder.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2008
  17. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hmm,

    Im not shure to understand what to do now.

    I couldnt access to my old W2K partition, because the error occurs as described before.

    It would no problem for me to reinstall XP and Vista but how could I access to my W2K again?

    And if I do reinstall XP I have to hidden the W2K partition? And same if Vista installation?

    Thanks for a few hints,

    Wolfram
     
  18. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you disconnect the XP/Vista hard drive and boot the DOS/W2K hard drive, do they boot correctly?

    If you boot to the DD CD and start DD in Manual Mode, right-click on the W2K partition and select Explore from the pop-up menu, can you browse the BOOTWIZ folder and see the BOOTWIZ.OSS file? This would let us know if it's on that partition.

    In your current setup with both the hard drives connected and OSS installed, right-click on the W2K OSS menu entry and select Properties. Click on the Disks item to select it. Is the Specify boot order manually checkbox checked? If yes, what order is shown in the list (Hard disk 1, Hard disk 2, etc.). If no, try checking the box and setting the order as Hard disk 2, Hard disk 1 so that the W2K disk is first in the order (this assumes that the XP/Vista drive is the booting drive in the BIOS) and see if that will let W2K boot correctly.

    If you reinstall XP, make sure to set the XP partition Active and hide the Vista, DOS and W2K partitions before you begin. Note that if you do reinstall XP, you'll have problems booting Vista because Vista is currently booting from the XP partition. If it were me, I'd probably reinstall XP and then reinstall Vista, though you can separate Vista from XP.

    If you do decide to reinstall the operating systems, make sure the one you're installing has its partition set as Active and the others are hidden. An example detailing installing XP and Vista on a problem OSS system can be found here. However, I would try the other options first. You may not need to reinstall.
     
  19. Bubka

    Bubka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks a lot for your help.

    Ive decided to re-install all systems because neither OS (only Vista) started
    correcly..:oops:

    Ill start with W2k and will then install XP and Vista as described...

    Best regards,

    Wolfram
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.