Problems running files from mapped drive

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by debriw, Jun 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. debriw

    debriw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I have just installed the Home version of NOD32 and I like it's performance. But when I try to run a file from a mapped drive across my network, I get the following error message without fail:

    ----
    Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.
    ----

    I am able to get rid of this error message by removing Network drives from the Real-time file system protection settings (under Media to scan). While this certainly works, I would rather leave on all the protection as I do not know whether this actually reduces my overall protection with NOD32.

    I have tried this on both Windows XP Pro SP2 and SP3 systems (one is a laptop the other a desktop). Before installing I have no trouble running network files, and after changing that setting it works fine.

    I haven't found anything here about this, so I would appreciate any thoughts.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please paste here the information about EAV you have installed (Help - About, or right-click the system tray icon - About)
     
  3. debriw

    debriw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Virus signature database: 3199 (20080619)
    Update module: 1024 (20080514)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1120 (20080612)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1071 (20080509)
    Archive support module: 1079 (20080509)
    Cleaner module: 1030 (20080513)
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just to make sure, is the program version shown above this information actually 3.0.667?
     
  5. debriw

    debriw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Actually it states 3.0.657.0. I just downloaded this 2 days ago after purchase.

    I will download the latest version (I saw the sticky, didn't realize the latest wasn't included) and will let you know what happens.
     
  6. debriw

    debriw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Ok, I downloaded the latest build and that seems to have fixed the problem.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.