Problems reading my DVD after booting into acronis

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pkatta, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pkatta

    pkatta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Hello,
    I created an image using TI. The images were written to a DVD. Then I created a bootable CD-ROM. I wanted to test the restore. I am able to boot into the acronis environment. I choose restore image. In one of the dialogs it asks me to select the image. At this point I take out the CD-ROM and insert the DVD containing the images. However TI does not see the images at all. The DVD drive is a Sony D56A.

    I am able to read the images from within windows.

    What are my solutions here?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello pkatta,

    Can you see the actual DVD drive itself (note that the drive letters you see will be different to that shown under Windows)? If so, can you see some nameless icons when you click on it? If the answer to both these questions is "Yes" then click the "Back" button to return to the previous screen and then click "Next" to advance again. The file names will then be revealed in all their glory.

    Regards
     
  3. pkatta

    pkatta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Menorcaman,
    Thanks for replying. After going to the select image dialog, I do not see anything in the file list. As soon as the DVD is inserted it looks like the DVD is being read. However TI does not update. I even tried giving it the exact name of the tib file and it would not find it.

    I have only one CD/DVD drive. I initially put the bootable CD and boot into TI. Then when it is time to select the image file I insert the DVD.

    I did try going back and forth and that did not cause the DVD to be read either. I am really stuck at this point.

    pkatta
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi pkatta,

    Hmm, most strange. I thought maybe you needed to insert the image DVD before you started the Restore Image Wizard rather than after but, having just tried out both scenarios, this doesn't seem to be the case.

    I'm afraid you'll now need to contact support@acronis.com after creating the sysinfo.txt and scanbus.txt files as detailed in this previous <Acronis Support reply>.

    Sorry I can't help more.

    Regards
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I haven't tried this with TI so it may not be relevant. With Ghost 9 you have to click "Browse" BEFORE changing CD's.
     
  6. pkatta

    pkatta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Acronis support,
    There have been multiple reports in this forum about the bootable media not allowing us to read images of the DVD's. Have you found a solution for this problem?

    Thanks.
     
  7. pkatta

    pkatta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Acronis,
    Any solutions o_O

    pkatta
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pkatta,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0 then please do as Menorcaman has suggested in his post #4. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  9. pkatta

    pkatta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Support,
    Okay here is the deal: I have tried the latest version and also what Menorcaman suggested. As he said it does not work. I cannot restore images from the DVD.

    I was in the process of buying 5 licenses when I ran into this snag with the trial version. Does acronis support have a solution? I do not not want to buy the software and then have to go through a rigmarole to make the dvd's bootable.

    Unless I get specific answers I am not willing to commit to this software. Ghost 9.0 works fine for me and I might buy that unless Acronis support can commit to something.

    Thanks.
     
  10. Gary Crase

    Gary Crase Guest

    I have the same problem, I don't think acronis true image 8 supports dvd Media, I have downloaded the latest build and If you will notice when IT asks if you want to create a bootable CD it only mentions CDR/CDRW. It doesnot mention DVDR/DVDRW. ALso when you make a backup, and it asks for automatic or you specify the size, a DVD option does not exist. I hope Acronis addresses this major problem because cdr/cdrw is rapidly becoming obsolete technology. Gary
     
  11. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    You can type in whatever value you like when it prompts you for the split size. And then you can burn the images onto DVD.

    I do believe I've had some trouble in the past where I tried booting with the rescue CD and then placing the DVD with images in that very same drive. I make bootable DVDs and I also have multiple optical drives in my PC, so I haven't really looked into this issue though.
     
  12. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Gary,

    TI does support DVD media. However, you don't have the same problem as pkatta. This thread is about TI not seeing images on DVD after booting from the bootable rescue CD, not about creating the bootable rescue media to DVD.

    Just ignore the dropdown picklist and type the required size in manually (see screenshot below). Note that when imaging direct from TI to UDF packet writing preformatted DVDs you need to leave the image splitting on Automatic. TI will then fill each disk to capacity and prompt for the next preformatted DVD. The manual split is only required when you create an image to a hard drive in preparation for copying the resultant separate .tib files to DVD (the "two-step" method). Have a look at <Acronis Online FAQ #20> for more information on creating images to DVD.

    Regards
     

    Attached Files:

  13. pkatta

    pkatta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Once more....
    Support,
    Okay here is the deal: I have tried the latest version and also what Menorcaman suggested. As he said it does not work. I cannot restore images from the DVD.

    I was in the process of buying 5 licenses when I ran into this snag with the trial version. Does acronis support have a solution? I do not not want to buy the software and then have to go through a rigmarole to make the dvd's bootable.

    Unless I get specific answers I am not willing to commit to this software. Ghost 9.0 works fine for me and I might buy that unless Acronis support can commit to something.

    Thanks.
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pkatta,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept my apologies for the delay with the response.

    I understand why you are upset. However, we need the information that I have requested in order to investigate this issue. Especially since this issue is not so common.

    Could you please send all the requested files and information to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread?
    We will do our best in order to provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.