Problem with Signature Updates in ESS RC1

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by ba1u, Sep 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,
    Im behind a college proxy . Though I gave the proxy credentials to ESS it always
    showing ' failed to update '
    http://www.picpeek.com/uploads/a795ed2a23.jpg
    This is a fresh install . I havent tried any betas before. the old nod32 av 2.7 was uninstalled via ccleanero_O o_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello ba1u,

    Have you restarted your computer lately? Same message?
     
  3. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    yes restarted still showing the same:(

    Is it possible to choose some servers here
    http://www.picpeek.com/uploads/c53073e93f.jpg

    :'(
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  5. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    I would say you have a proxy problem.

    Not sure how your college proxy is set up but you might want to check with them. ;)
     
  7. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    But the same proxy worked for nod32 2.7 & other softwares.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    Set the firewall to automatic and see if that helps.
     
  9. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you need the firewall under your circumstances? Have you the tried the stand alone version of NOD32 Version 3, RC1?

    NOD 2.7 doesn't have a firewall and it worked.
     
  11. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Didnt try the standalone.
    anyways I will wait for few days
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    If you discover the cause of your problem, let us know. :)
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I normally do not see any failures in my event log but after noticing a few threads about update problems....I took a look. The failures recorded were more than likely associated with what Blackspear posted about yesterday here.

    A day or 2 wait will probably prove successful.

    Bubba
     
  14. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    I am using ESET NOD32 Antivirus V3.0 RC 1 & have problem in updating (it was okay when I used NOD32 V2.70 & ESET NOD32 Antivirus V3.0 Beta 2).
     
  15. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    But I am a licensed client. :rolleyes:

    Anyway, the technical support is looking into my problem. :D
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I am also :rolleyes:

    The crux of the matter IMHO had to do with the "large update" so missing a few connections is not that big a deal. YMMV :rolleyes:
     
  17. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi ,
    Thanks for the help. As Bubba said , its a problem with the traffic of upload server. Im a trial version user.ust now it updated to the latest signatures, the update speed was very slow , took 2 hours with a lot of disconnections in between.:)
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There is no trial version of ESS/EAV so the large update wouldn't affect the beta users. What's more, ESS/EAV don't download such large updates.
     
  19. hotdogandchips

    hotdogandchips Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    I too am still having issues with updating through my transparent proxy, all the logs show is this:

    Code:
    30/09/2007 12:01:28 p.m.	Update	Bad link to update server.	NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM	
    The only way I found to get it to update correctly is add an ESET update server to my squid proxy's cache exclusion list and update solely from that server. It's a really strange problem as according to the squid logs, it correctly notes a "cache miss" (ie. the requested file isn't in the proxy cache) and passes the traffic along accordingly.

    I should also note that I do no sort of filtering on access to the internet, so there's no chance in my mind of it being a squid malfunction (or unintended function); as everything else works through it something isn't quite right with this latest version's updater (I have NOD32 2.7 on other computers that update just fine on the same network/subnet).


    Edit: Cancel all that - it's working perfectly now... you've just gotta make sure that "Choose Automatically" is selected in the "Update" prompt instead of the blank. (Hah! :ouch:)
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.