Problem with Signature Updates in ESS RC1

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by ba1u, Sep 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,
    Im behind a college proxy . Though I gave the proxy credentials to ESS it always
    showing ' failed to update '
    http://www.picpeek.com/uploads/a795ed2a23.jpg
    This is a fresh install . I havent tried any betas before. the old nod32 av 2.7 was uninstalled via ccleanero_O o_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,842
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello ba1u,

    Have you restarted your computer lately? Same message?
     
  3. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    yes restarted still showing the same:(

    Is it possible to choose some servers here
    http://www.picpeek.com/uploads/c53073e93f.jpg

    :'(
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,842
    Location:
    Texas
  5. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,842
    Location:
    Texas
    I would say you have a proxy problem.

    Not sure how your college proxy is set up but you might want to check with them. ;)
     
  7. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    But the same proxy worked for nod32 2.7 & other softwares.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,842
    Location:
    Texas
    Set the firewall to automatic and see if that helps.
     
  9. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,842
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you need the firewall under your circumstances? Have you the tried the stand alone version of NOD32 Version 3, RC1?

    NOD 2.7 doesn't have a firewall and it worked.
     
  11. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Didnt try the standalone.
    anyways I will wait for few days
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,842
    Location:
    Texas
    If you discover the cause of your problem, let us know. :)
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I normally do not see any failures in my event log but after noticing a few threads about update problems....I took a look. The failures recorded were more than likely associated with what Blackspear posted about yesterday here.

    A day or 2 wait will probably prove successful.

    Bubba
     
  14. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    I am using ESET NOD32 Antivirus V3.0 RC 1 & have problem in updating (it was okay when I used NOD32 V2.70 & ESET NOD32 Antivirus V3.0 Beta 2).
     
  15. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    But I am a licensed client. :rolleyes:

    Anyway, the technical support is looking into my problem. :D
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I am also :rolleyes:

    The crux of the matter IMHO had to do with the "large update" so missing a few connections is not that big a deal. YMMV :rolleyes:
     
  17. ba1u

    ba1u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi ,
    Thanks for the help. As Bubba said , its a problem with the traffic of upload server. Im a trial version user.ust now it updated to the latest signatures, the update speed was very slow , took 2 hours with a lot of disconnections in between.:)
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    There is no trial version of ESS/EAV so the large update wouldn't affect the beta users. What's more, ESS/EAV don't download such large updates.
     
  19. hotdogandchips

    hotdogandchips Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    I too am still having issues with updating through my transparent proxy, all the logs show is this:

    Code:
    30/09/2007 12:01:28 p.m.	Update	Bad link to update server.	NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM	
    The only way I found to get it to update correctly is add an ESET update server to my squid proxy's cache exclusion list and update solely from that server. It's a really strange problem as according to the squid logs, it correctly notes a "cache miss" (ie. the requested file isn't in the proxy cache) and passes the traffic along accordingly.

    I should also note that I do no sort of filtering on access to the internet, so there's no chance in my mind of it being a squid malfunction (or unintended function); as everything else works through it something isn't quite right with this latest version's updater (I have NOD32 2.7 on other computers that update just fine on the same network/subnet).


    Edit: Cancel all that - it's working perfectly now... you've just gotta make sure that "Choose Automatically" is selected in the "Update" prompt instead of the blank. (Hah! :ouch:)
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.