Problem with SG Browser Hijacking

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by three4ever, Aug 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. three4ever

three4ever Registered Member

Okay, I cannot lie, I am a Newbie to the computer world.
    I run Windows XP. I have Norton SystemWorks, Spyguard,SG Browser Hijacking, CyberScrub and SpyBot S&D.
    Yesterday I got a browser change notice. I checked No and got this box that reads:
    Run-time Error '5':
    Invalid procedure or argument. I have tried everything and cannot get rid of it. I shut off the Browser feature and it was gone for a while but, it is back this morning.
    Thanks for the help! also, I just downloaded this on Friday and I checked and it is the 2.6 version.

2. javacool

javacool BrightFort Moderator

Do you recall what change you were notified of? i.e. was it a browser setting change or a new BHO?

TIA. :)

-Javacool

3. rusty-412

rusty-412 Registered Member

If you are running v. 2.6 it is SpywareBlaster, SpywareGuard is at version 2.1...

4. three4ever

Sorry, I do not knowwhat BHO is. My husband had used my system while I was out and downloaded some adult thing. It added a toolbar to my browser (IE). I deleted the download, to the message no, not to change my browser. Later when I opened it up is when I found that toolbar. I right clicked on it and it was gone. I then ran all of my spyware programs and scrubers. I uninstalled Spyguard and Spyblaster and re did them but I still keep getting that same pop up box saying it is an error '5'.

5. javacool

Is it SpywareBlaster or SpywareGuard that produces the error? Am I correct in guessing it is SpywareGuard? (i.e. you can open a run SpywareBlaster without any problems?)

TIA. :)

-Javacool

6. javacool

Also - the following would help me greatly: