Problem with Remote Installation on Windows 2000 clients

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Aji, Jun 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    I am a retalively new user of this forum.

    I have installed NOD32 Enterprise & Mail Server Edition on Windows 2003 Server with service pack 1, but I am facing some problems with RAC on client machines with Windows 2000. :'(

    RAC is not allowing Remote Installation of client machines that has Windows 2000 Professional with Service pack 4. I am not able to push NOD32 from RAC as it is giving the following error message – “RES error code 14, GIE error code 997”. There are around 40 client machines with Windows 2000 for installation. But I am able to push NOD32 to clients that runs on Windows XP o/s.

    Please let me know if there is a solution for this.
     
  2. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Hello Aji and welcome to Wilders,

    The error 997 means:
    ERROR_IO_PENDING 997 Overlapped I/O operation is in progress.

    Do you have this error is all target computers you tried (win2k) ?
    Do you uninstall previous AV from these computers first and reboot them ?
     
  3. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    Hi Zashita,

    Yes the problem is there with all the systems that has Win2K. And there is no anti-virus in any of the client machines. (Also RAC works fine with Windows XP clients).
     
  4. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    It seems that an installation is already in progress. Did you try to reboot a computer and then push Nod32 on it ?
     
  5. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    Yes, I tried rebooting the system and even after that the same problem persists.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    While waiting for further assistance with this issue can you please send an email to support@nod32.com and place a link to this thread.

    We would appreciate if you could keep us in the loop with your progress, as we all learn this way…

    Cheers :D
     
  7. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Do you have a firewall or a network restriction on these computers ?
    Can you try too to make an installation using the 'nod32installer.exe' file (avaible where you put your package, by default in 'c:\program files\eset\ra\server\packages\your package ')
    Are you able to install manually Nod32 on one of these computer ? (only to see if it is possible for Nod32 to be installed)
     
  8. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    There is no firewall or any other network restriction on the computers. Also we are able to install NOD32 manually on computer with Win2K.Machines with Windows XP are in the same network and with those sytems Remote installation is possible from RAC.

    The problem is with Remote installation on machines with Win2K.
     
  9. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    And are you able to install Nod32 by running the 'nod32installer.exe' file ?
    Copy it (from your package directory) and run it on one of the win2k computer.
     
  10. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Are the clients logging into the domain properly, using the DCs IP address as their one and only DNS server?
     
  11. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    My apologies for the late reply. The NOD32 installion is at my client's place and he was not available for a week to test.
    We are not able to install nod32installer.exe on Win2K machines. Please let me know how we can fix this problem o_O
     
  12. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    When you install on Win2k machines, do you go till the box asking for an Admin account or not ?
     
  13. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    I just copied from the folder on the server and pasted it on to the Win2K machine
     
  14. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    sorry, I meant when you try to push from RAC to Win2k computers :)

    But when you try to install 'nod32installer.exe' directly, do you use an admin account ?
     
  15. Aji

    Aji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    Yes the Win2K machine has administative rights.
     
  16. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Could you post some logs ?
    RA log from the server, (c:\program files\eset\ra\server\nod32ra.log) and windows logs relating events with Nod32 from the target computer ?
     
  17. davekempe

    davekempe Guest

    I am having the same error.
    here is my logs:
    [2005-08-24 11:47:11.897] V2 [430bd199002a] <PUSHINST_WARNING> PushInstaller: Could not uninstall NOD32 Installer service 'NOD32 Remote Installer' (filename '%SystemRoot%\nod32installer.exe') from target computer 'Wwfausyd121' (SC error code 10, GLE error code 997)
    [2005-08-24 11:54:38.040] V2 [430bd357002f] <PUSHINST_WARNING> PushInstaller: Could not uninstall NOD32 Installer service 'NOD32 Remote Installer' (filename '%SystemRoot%\nod32installer.exe') from target computer 'Wwfausyd121' (SC error code 10, GLE error code 997)

    I don't know why its trying to uninstall first on win2k.
    there was sophos on this machine first and we uninstalled it.
    I can start a new thread, but I am having exactly the same problem as original poster
     
  18. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Do you all have any backup software installed on those Windows 2000 computers? That can sometimes interfere with Active Directory logins.
     
  19. davekempe

    davekempe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    no I don't have any backup software.
    they are pretty much just workstations.
    local administrator gives the same error
     
  20. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi davekempe:

    Please check the environment variables to ensure the temp paths are correct.

    You may also want to run an sfc /scannow to ensure critical windows files/settings are in tact.

     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Have you tried removing installation leftovers after unsuccessful attempts to install NOD remotely using RAC?
     
  22. davekempe

    davekempe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    yes.
    same error after removing leftovers.
    I got the error straight off the bat.
    perhaps its something to do with the sophos uninstall?
     
  23. Gally

    Gally Guest

    Did anyone come up with a solution here?
     
  24. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    *bump*

    Also...no additional shares of the %system% partition on the clients, correct?
     
  25. minerat

    minerat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I also had this problem with my win2k clients (but no problem with XP).

    I uninstalled Panda from the admin console, rebooted. Attempt to install NOD remotely, same error as OP. Doesn't matter whether the user is logged in or not. Rebooted the machine and NOD32 was installed. Not sure exactly what happened, but I've got a few more to go through so I'll try more combinations.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.