Problem with nod reporting "Licence Expired"

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GraemeEvans, May 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GraemeEvans

    GraemeEvans Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I have recently rolled out v4 to one of the networks we support, which went very smoothly, however it appears some of the v2 clients had old nod username/passwords entered for updates and were updating (or not) from eset servers directly. I guess they must have had update problems at some point and someone did that as a workaround.

    Since updating to v4 these PC's now report "Licence Expired" and continually warn the users that they are not properly protected. despite the fact they are updating successfully.

    The clients are all configured to update from our local server and as such do not have an eset username/password entered anymore but I need to clear the licence details that it must have picked up from the old username/passwords that were there.

    Anyone know how this can be done? and ideally from the server, there are quite a few like this!
     
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello GraemeEvans,

    This may happen if you have an old license file that the software is loading. In a setup like yours, the clients should not have a license file at all. To check this, follow the steps below:

    1. Open the ESET software on a client that has the issue.
    2. Press F5 to open the Setup window.
    3. Find and click on Licenses on the left-hand side of the window.
    4. If there are any Licenses listed in the box on the right-hand side, then select them and click the Remove button.

    If this works, you can create a task in Remote Administrator to remove the license file from all the clients.
     
  3. GraemeEvans

    GraemeEvans Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    There are no licence details listed under licences in the setup screen. The only indication of a licence is a licence expiry date shown on the "Protection Status" screen.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please PM me your username so that I can check your license status. Do you actually have EAV installed and not ESS?
     
  5. GraemeEvans

    GraemeEvans Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I get "The private messaging system is currently unavailable."

    Maybe if you PM me I could reply?


    But I am 100% sure I haven't installed ESS. There are 20+ other computers and servers on the network rolled out from the same package with the same config file that are fine. The only problem is on the few (4 so far) that previously had v2.7 and were configured to update directly from eset servers. These still have details from an old licence.

    None of the PC's that update from our ESET Remote Administrator Server list an expiry date or seem to have any awareness of the licence.

    PS: for info, We are an Eset reseller and I support around 30 networks protected by Eset software.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.