Problem with new Hdisk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by FrancoB, Dec 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FrancoB

    FrancoB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,
    On my pc with a 80 GB sata hdisk I've added a second 160 GB sata hdisk maxtor.
    Well, ATI rescue cd (9 and 11) does not recognize the new hdisk, it sees only the old one.

    can you help?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does the new hard disk show up in the computer's BIOS?

    Does it show up in Windows (if you can boot into Windows)?

    Does the Safe Mode version of TI see the new disk?

    Are both SATA drives connected to the same controller?
     
  3. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Adding to what MudCrab asked (I have no experience with SATA drives):

    In Windows does it show up in Disk Management?

    Has the new drive been formatted?
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    You shouldn't need to format but you probably have to at least initialize the disk in Windows. The initialize wizard should come up when you boot up with the disk installed and start My Computer, Manage, Disk Management
     
  5. FrancoB

    FrancoB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    The new hdisk is in use under winxp: it is ntfs formatted. I confess I don't know if it use the same controller: I used a free motherboard sata connector.
    thanks
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Possibly 9 doesn't recognize it because 9 is too old to have theright drivers and 11 doesn't because that version still needs fixing with regard to recognizing many drives.

    That is what I would presume if ATI can work with the drives (do backups) from within Win. In that case, contact Tech Support and they may be able to send an iso that can be burned to CD to create Boot disk that will recognize your drive.
     
  7. FrancoB

    FrancoB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Thank you!
    When Acronis releases new ATI?
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello FrancoB,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8053) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report, Windows system information and Linux system information (sysinfo26.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep all drives in question connected and powered on during the creation process.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. FrancoB

    FrancoB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hi, I followed your last mail, but I had a initial problem: F11 key has no effect...
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello FrancoB,

    Please access the command prompt to collect the sysinfo26.txt by pressing ctrl+alt+F2 key combination after booting into Acronis Bootable Rescue Media Full version. Then follow the instructions in my previous post.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.