problem with network

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by terzino, Jan 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. terzino

    terzino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello I have a problem with my connection and maybe someone can give me a hand


    while i'm connected to internet with wireless happens about every hour or so that sometimes it can be even less connection is "lost" for two to three minutes and then resumes


    the router works perfectly and to the other PCs that connect to the same router nothing happens. also my pc is connected (the dashes are always at the max, how when it is connected), but in practice does not make me access to the Internet


    I think it's something connected to the new antivirus that I've installed after i formatted the pc. i have eset smart security 5
    maybe someone can give me a hand. I do not know what to do


    sorry for my english and if i have wrong the section
     
  2. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    Without more information, it initially sounds like the issue could be connected to the Network card in this computer. Is it a laptop or desktop computer? What Windows os is on that computer and what ESET program and version are you using?
     
  3. terzino

    terzino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    it's a laptop. it's perfectly functioning. never gave any problems. it have one year only
    i have w 7 and the version is 5.0.94 of eset smart security 5

    when i connect to other routers or lines there is no problem, only with this
    this problem cause to me a lot of issues so i want to solve it

    ps: there is no virus or malaware on my pc
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you are able to reproduce the issue, could you try disabling firewall for a while to see if it makes a difference?
     
  5. terzino

    terzino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    with firewall disabled there is no problem with connection

    so the problem is in the configuration of the firewall

    what i have to do to fix it?
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  6. Nidzo

    Nidzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    I have same problem in last two days. Eset firewall blocks comunication between PC and router. It start working again when I disable firewall and enable it again. It happens randomly.
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  8. terzino

    terzino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    i placed the network in the trusted zone but nothing
    there is still the problem
     
  9. Nidzo

    Nidzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Same here. It becomes annoying. :(
     
  10. Draycon

    Draycon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Sweden
    I got the same problem today. I couldn't access my home computer through RDP and thought something was wrong with my computer, so I used IPMI and could connect to my computer without problems. Then I noticed all internet connection to and from my computer wasn't working at all, no wonder I couldn't connect with RDP. So I tried various stuff to se if I could restore connection and nothing worked, except when I DISABLED the ESET Smart Security FIREWALL!!! then everything worked again, I could RDP into my computer and surf from it without problem. This is very odd indeed and I cant find anything in the logs suggesting why this should have happened, nothing was blocked etc etc and I have never had any prob (1 year) with ESET Smart Security before until today.

    I did solve the problem by finally restarting my home computer through IPMI at the end, but this odd behavior shouldn't even happen in the first place.
     
  11. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
  12. Draycon

    Draycon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Sweden
    Not sure if this was meant to me or someone else but I personally always run in interactive mode with a profile where all learned events are stored. In my case it wasn't just a single program (RDP = Remote desktop) that was denied access, everything was denied access, all from chrome, firefox, dropbox, wuala, skype ... and by turning of the firewall, everything worked again.

    I do also get "hickups" like the original poster, I usually notice those while streaming a video from my xbmc machine (machine is added to trusted zone), my connection would get interrupted, RDP would freeze for several seconds and xbmc would stop playing the video until connection is back on.

     
  13. terzino

    terzino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.