Problem with network activity module on ESS 5?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by poluxbgames, Oct 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    Hello everyone,
    i've noticed a little thing on the network activity module:

    activ1.jpg

    It seems to be always trafic... but:

    activ2.jpg

    no connection active...?!? Is it normal?
    I've tried to disconnect the modem box of the network totally and it's always the same, like picture 1.

    i've made a full scan without find infection, and malwarebytes AM doesn't find anything too...

    so? what's this activity?
    (perhaps CPL Plug for TV? But tv is not on now).

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Not just you, seeing this as well.
     
  3. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    you see the same on your connection?
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Maybe local connections inside your computer.
     
  5. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    @xxJackxx
    you see same kind of activity on your tab?

    @toxinon12345
    perhaps, but i can't see anything... is it dangerous you think?
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, though I am not bothered by it or worried about it. Turning off my wireless connection stops it so it doesn't appear to be connections within the computer. You will notice that the scale is very small though, so even though it looks like a lot of activity you can see by the graph that in real numbers it doesn't amount to much.

    -Also, the reason you are not likely seeing it on the Network Connections section is probably because the default is TCP connections only. If you uncheck that in the options to show UDP activity there is actually quite a bit going on.
     
  7. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    Thanks! i've enabled UDP activity and it seems that it's svchost.exe who send and receive some kb very often.
    Distant adress:ff02::c:1900
    Normal you think?
    it seems to be win 7 who discover other computers and devices on the local network.. it is possible?
     
  8. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    I've found the solution :)
    i've disabled 2 services:"UPnP Device host" and "SSDP Discovery service"
    and all the activity is gone :)
     
  9. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    Arg! I'm blocked... these two services are needed to make an Iphone connection with itunes... :(
    so i must start them.. :(
    Perhaps these are searching connection permanently = network activity..?
     
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    svchost.exe does generate a lot of traffic. You don't want to disable those services as you discovered. Basically what you are seeing is something that has been going on all along and it is nothing to be worried about.

    If you want a second opinion you can go to the Sysinternals site and download TCPView (free) and it will show you pretty much the same activity you are seeing now. http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb897437

    If you are concerned that something rogue is going on I really don't think you have anything to worry about.
     
  11. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    Thanks a lot ;)
    i have made a mistake. I've no UPnP peripheral (iphone don't need it in fact) and these services are not necessary for me :)
    so it turns perfectly now without and the network activity is fine now ;)
    svchost (UPnP & SSDP discovering) try to discover each second a peripheral in fact ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.