Problem With My Internet Connection

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ArthurLee, Jul 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ArthurLee

    ArthurLee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    I have an annoying problem, although not critical, that won’t go away. This problem seems to have manifested itself since I installed Avira Premium Security Suite. I do like this application. The AV protection is second to none (my personal opinion) and the firewall is adequate for my needs.

    My OS is Microsoft Windows XP Professional and I connect to the internet via a Netgear wireless router through Sky Broadband ISP with a SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter. The router has only been installed for 8 months. I use Internet Explorer as my browser.

    The problem is that, sporadically, I lose my connection to the internet (the usual web page not available) but when I check my Local Area status, it always shows as ‘connected’. A quick fix for this problem is to reboot my computer on the occasions that connection is lost and always, my internet connection is restored.

    I visited the Avira support forum and, on looking at various threads, did the following :

    Did a complete and clean uninstall and reinstallation of Avira Premium Security Suite. Everything seemed fine after this for a few days.
    Ran the WinsockxpFix
    Ran the LSPFix

    The Winsockfix disabled my online protection in Avira! :rolleyes: :(
    The LSPFix restored my online protection in Avira. :)

    However, the problem of intermittent lost internet connections still prevails. :oops:

    I have used several (Search & Destroy, Ad-Aware, Avira AV) scanning processes but my computer is clean from malware, adware, viruses etc. I also, every other day, clean up my registry with CCleaner and Registry Mechanic and I am careful to view the stuff they find before deletion in case there is any reference to LSP, Winsock, Layers, ISP, Internet etc.

    Your help will be most appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Flava

    Flava Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Hello.
    I'm new at this forum, but i want to say that this issue happening to me as well.
    I have Vista and i never had problem with Internet Connection since i installed avira premium.
    Internet connection keep being lost and inactivated, i must restart computer so that internet connection will start to work again.
    Please any help would be appraciated.

    Thanks.
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hello ArthurLee,

    It sounds like a DHCP renewal problem.

    I can understand that may not be understandable, and dont really want to go into explanations that may simply confuse rather than sort the problem.

    What I would suggest (as you are on a private home LAN) is to make a static IP within your PC.

    If you need help with that,.. than please ask

    - Stem
     
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Flava, welcome to Wilders,


    As I mentioned above (which actually should not be needed) will help in connection problems in a LAN

    Just post more info if more help needed,

    - Stem
     
  5. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    even with it saying "Connected" what is the Sig strength. Low signal can cause this to a flock of birds could knock it out or the wind blowing a branch Wireless depends SOOO much on Sig strength. Netgear has a way in its tree to see what the strength is its receiving at. you might want to check that also just a thought.


    Im currently using Avira.. on a wireless network. that use's a router to Connect to a wireless modem also.

    to keep signal Reliable in my house my receive has to be above 20% if its not then its interment. also keep in mind the signal can change Thur out the day depending on what the weather is like and many other factors.

    normally this is not a problem but could be depending on how cheap or how low end the wireless card is. if your SEND is not up to par in other words you could get a Signal that says 50% or Excellent in Windows taskbar. but you may only be sending a 10% signal to the router hub anything like that. netgear should have a setting in wireless that says Transmit. make sure its on High. otherwise you may lose connection simply because you cant send a strong enough signal so the server drops you.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.