Problem with Linksys modem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Jan 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I have a Linksys DSL modem, Wireless G, model WAG200G.

    Since day one I have a problem, when ever I open a page in my browser with many pictures/ images, the internet connection is dropped, the internet light becomes red and remains so for many minutes. It happens occasionally on some other web pages too but very common eith pages loaded with images. Also it stops the internet if I run a torrent client.

    It,s so irritating. No warranty ATM with me. ISP doesn,t support Linksys, so no support from them. I have bought two other modems of same model for two friends and they don,t have any such problem.

    Seems hardware issue? Should I try to flash it with a frimware upgrade?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. Will try this.
     
  4. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Hi aigle,

    It's usually a good idea to update firmware..

    WAG200Gv1-EU-AnnexA-ETSI-ML-1.01.09-code.zip

    Firmware version: 1.01.09
    Release Date: 03/13/2009 ?

    btw your best (STC) MTU value is 1442.

    Is your DSL Noise Margin or SNR above 6 db ?
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks.

    SNR is 16 and 31.

    MTU is set on automatic, what you mean by best MTU?
     
  6. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Your SNR is very good.

    I mentioned MTU best value as a response to Cudni post..

    As long as your service provider uses the MTU (maximum transmission unit) value of 1442 for PPPoE -as nonstandard value- it's the best value if you want to set it manually (refer to Cudni link).
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Very happy to report that I did a 30-30-30 hard reset, and upgraded to latest firmware. Finally I set MTU to 1400. Now it has been about 4-5 days and no connection drop so far. :thumb: :D

    Otherwise it was really annoying and I was thinking to buy a new modem. I think my next purchase will be a d-link rather than Linksys.

    Thanks for all the helpful responses.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.